Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 1 – First Email from Elder Houston

1 Comment

Dear Family,

I have been so busy here at the MTC and I don’t have a ton of time so I am so sorry if I don’t cover everything! Believe me I want to tell you so many things cause so much has happened this last week but we are so busy studying, teaching, and doing many other things! 

First off I just want to say that the MTC is so amazing and I LOVE IT! Everyone is so nice and on the same page! The first day you get a “dork dot” on your name tag and everybody knows you are a newby and says, “Welcome to the MTC Elder” and it is cool and nice at the beginning but got old at quick to so it was nice yesterday to have about 500 new missionaries with dork dots on so we aren’t the new kids anymore. I actually said welcome to the MTC to a group of Missionaries but didn’t really look at them because I was in a hurry and somebody said, “Oh hey elder Houston.” I turned and it was LANDEN STINKING BROADHEAD!!!! I was so happy and gave him a huge hug! I also see jake anderson and Cam Imlay a lot here too!

Okay so for this letter I am just going to try and answer all the questions that you asked me in you letters and stuff. First off my typical day is wake up go to gym, come back shower then go to the class for 4 hours of personal, companion, language and additional study, then I have lunch and go to class for 4 hours with my teacher Brother Scoville who is so awesome! I love him dearly and he never spoke english all my classes are in korean so you learn quick. then I have dinner and go back to class for another 3 hours and usually we teach an investigator her name is sister eem which doesn’t translate well to english but thats as close as it gets to what we would say. Our first lesson with her was on our 3rd day and she only speaks korean and our last of 4 was yesterday. I gave her my korean book of mormon the second day and the last few days went so so good and my and my companion could converse pretty well with her in Korean. She is supposedly going to be one of our teachers later.

My companions name is Elder Sederholm and he is from arkansas but has lived the last two years in denmark because his parents are mission presidents there. I love him like a brother and we are seriously so close like brothers, but that has major disadvantages to because he can annoy me and get under my skin so bad but it is okay because I have a lot of things that annoy him too. We both know how to work hard and are doing good with the language. It is way hard but it is coming we can both say good prayers in Korean. We also know how to play hard and joke hard when the time is right. We make each other laugh so much and tease each other like brothers so it is the best.

We have 10 people in our district and I love all of them so much! The two in our room with us is Elder Ellingford and Elder Brantley and they are awesome. Ill tell you more about the rest in my district later. We had one Elder Bogue here and he was one of my favorite kids and I really liked him a lot but he got so sick the 3rd day here and was bed ridden in intensive care for 4 days and was sent home yesterday which broke my heart so please pray for elder bogue that he will be able to get better and get back in the mission field quickly! 

To be honest it is pretty hard to sleep at night even though I am exhausted because my mind goes a million miles an hour before I go to sleep. I get gym time everyday do service twice a week my shoes are awesome and scuffed up already. I think that covers all the questions! I’m sorry it was so random and disorganized but I had a lot to say and little time to organize it!

Okay that is all I really have time for I hope it all makes sense and thank you so much for all the emails, Dear Elders, and packages! We get to get the mail everyday and it is so fun to have some and I appreciate it! The gospel is so true and is such a blessing the gift of tongues and interpretation of tongues is so real and I am so grateful for this opportunity to serve the Lord. I love you all so much! Talk to you next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

One thought on “Week 1 – First Email from Elder Houston

  1. So great to hear he is doing well. Nothing like jumping in with both feet. Love hearing his testimony.

    Like

Leave a Reply

