Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 2 – Loving it in the MTC

Leave a comment

Hello Family and Friends!

Hey guys! So this had been another exciting and adventurous week at the MTC! First off I want to say Haley, Abbey, Trevor, Tyson, you all have personal letters on there way so please let me know when and if you get them! I love you all!

So Mom I just want to say that I appreciate your laundry so much! I look forward to doing laundry every week cause I go through a ton of clothes and I love a new clean batch! Also the tide to go pen is about the best invention in the entire world. I have already gone through a whole been and I am on my second! Woops. So I would like to share a funny/embarrassing story. Mom do you remember Elder Godfrey from Mr. Mac? I hope so cause he is one of my good friends here! He is such a goof and a few days ago we were at gym and we just got done and were running back to get our stuff and he jumped on my back and I was carrying him. I don’t know how much you remember him but he is not the lightest kid to say the least. I was running pretty fast and got almost all the way across the court when my new shoes (Which are awesome!!! and also super super grippy) caught and gripped the floor because I was getting tired and I feel completely over and all 280-300 pounds of elder Godfrey landed on top of me and everyone watched and thought I couldn’t be okay with Elder Godfrey landing on me like that! He rolled off as fast as I could and was so scared he had hurt me. I cut up my knees and elbow but felt fine and I was laughing so hard so then everyone was laughing and Elder Godfrey said, “Well he isn’t gonna make it, I guess we have to put him down!” It was so funny and everyone thought I was dead when he landed on me! But I am totally okay and it makes for a great story!

The MTC is still super awesome. the teachers here are amazing! I have Brother Scoville who I love with all my heart and Sister Simonson! They both are recently returned and are amazing teachers. My district is also so amazing! They are like another family to me. There is Me, My companion Elder Sederholm, my roommates Elder Ellingford, and Elder Brantley! There is also Elder Weiss and Elder Grover in our district and we are all like brothers! We have Sister Lautaha who is now a dear friend and I love her like a sister and her comp sister bryan! The last to sister are sister Willcox and sister Stanecliffe! They are both so amazing and so nice always! Sister Stanecliffe is always happy and smiling and always brightens our district with her love of the gospel! The Elders in my district are all amazing and we have had so many amazing spiritual experiences. Mom and Dad Ill tell you about more of those in a separate email.

The language is getting really hard and it can be so frustrating at times especially with all the genius people in my district! Everyone is seriously so smart in my district and zone so things move way fast. Every time I get frustrated the Lord answers my prayers in the most amazing of ways and I am still doing good and learning so so much. I love this language and it makes total sense to me it is just hard to memorize so much and know how to put them together. Korean is backwards like….. Book of Mormon God’s word is. That is a very simple sentence to! It makes a lot of sense it is just different so it’s hard to speak. I can read all korean and most pretty fast because we are not aloud to romanize so we have to figure our how to read and pronounce everything very quickly. The language is awesome though and I’m so excited to learn it! I know a ton of words and its amazing how fast you can learn here.

The MTC is amazing. I have learned so much about enjoying little things like every morning my companion and I stop on the way to class at a certain spot where you can clearly see outside the compound the beautiful Provo mountains and we just appreciate the beautiful world which God has created for us! This Gospel is so true. Mom I don’t want you to every worry becasue there is concourses of angels watching and protecting me and all the missionaries here. I know that is true. I love you all so much and appreciate all the letters and packages.

Love,

Elder Houston

 

Temple Visit with District

Temple Visit with District

Elder Houston & Elder Broadhead - One of his Best friends from St. George

Elder Houston & Elder Broadhead – One of his Best friends from St. George

Elder Houston and his companion Elder Sederholm

Elder Houston and his companion Elder Sederholm

Part of Elder Houston's District

Part of Elder Houston’s District

Leave a Reply

