Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 4 – Prayer and music are powerful; very powerful things! Another Amazing Week!

Leave a comment

Today has been another amazing week! So many cool things happened and I’ll try to get a lot of them in this email but I have actually come down with something and I am pretty sick and I am supposed to go home and sleep for as much free time that I have on P day which is not a lot. I also feel like a balloon so sorry if my email is scattered!

Okay so first a couple of experiences. So last week after I emailed you a bunch of pics.  Elder Ellingford asked to borrow my card and card adapter. I said, “yeah totally!” so I gave it to him and finished up laundry. So after I was done I went back and asked him if it worked for him and he went pale and said oh no I think I left it. We went back and searched for a long time but it was no where to be found. I wasn’t to bummed about the reader but the pics I was a little sad about but I felt so bad for Elder Ellingford because he felt so bad so I acted like NBD! Haha I kept reassuring him that everything was going to be okay and we would find it! That day we found nothing! He was really sad and I told him it would be okay! The next morning I knelt down fist thing and asked Heavenly Father to help comfort Elder Ellingford and help him know it was okay and to help us find this card if it be his will. The second I stood up I turned to Elder Ellingford and said we are going to find my card today elder, I know it. Later that day we were studying the scriptures and they were out in the hall studying when he walked in with the biggest grin on his face. He pulled out from behind his back my card and card reader and I said I knew it!!! where was it? He informed me that as his companion and he were studying they opened to a specific scripture in his comps scriptures. It just so happened that my card and reader was in that exact page of Elder Brantley’s scriptures. What a blessing and miracle. I immediately took my companion to a quiet room and knelt and thanked the Lord for helping us find it and for comforting Elder Ellingford!

The next experience was on Tuesday! I had the amazing opportunity to be in the choir at the Tuesday night devotional. We eat early and practice for an hour then sing in the devotional. We sang the song, Hope of Israel. That is now one of my favorite songs. It has always been good but singing that as a missionary with a bunch of other missionaries was such an amazing experience. We are the hope of Israel. The spirit during and after that song was incredible. Tears welled up in everyone’s eyes. I would encourage you to listen and ponder the amazing words of that song and think about how we are all the hope of Israel. I am soooooo sooo grateful for music here. My district and I are always singing when we walk when we shower wherever we are and it is a great way to invite the spirit. I love the songs I get to sing and I hope to do choir the rest of my time here.

Okay question answering time!!

Yes we learn about the culture because our teachers act like koreans and we teach and are in contact with real koreans often. Some cool things is you bow and when you shake hands you use two hands and don’t look in there eyes. Whenever you hand something or recieve something you do it with two hands out of respect. You talk to your elders only in high form and they talk to us in middle form! It is way cool

Everyone one in my district is going to Seoul! All the missions are evenly spread so there is 2 districts going to each mission if that makes sense. There are a few exceptions for different things.

I go to the temple every week and it is amazing! The provo temple is beautiful. I actually get to go every sunday and just sit outside of it too!

We won’t know til next week if Elder bogue comes back.

Gym time is awesome! It is a great way to wake up and is so nice to work out instead of sit. Other than that I love personal study. I learn so much during that time!

We hear a member of the 70 or something similar 2 times a week and we think that we will have a member of the 12 or the 1rst presidency this week because of rumors!

I print off all my emails so it doesn’t take email time to read. We print,  read, then respond so it is totally fine to email separate!

The language is tough but it is coming slowly but surely! It amazes me how some of the people can look at a word once and have it memorized. I actually have to work a little hard to keep up but I have stayed up in the class and don’t even feel behind. I’m better at some things and others are better at others and that’s just how it is.

Dad, the food is pretty brutal! Haha every once in a while we get something good but if you saw how many missionaries they feed….. wow a lot of the food just isn’t real and my stomach has had a really hard time. But on the bright side everyone’s stomach is like that so we all are okay with it!! Haha.

Okay lastly I just want to say mom even though I’m pretty sick I am fine so don’t be all nervous and stuff okay!:) But disease around here is crazy cause everyone catches something. It hit me hard yesterday and today and I was up most of last night. My headache and sore throat went away today a little but my tummy is still pretty mad! Ha but I’m doing good I could just use some Ibuprofen in your package and any other meds you think my help and also another exercise shirt. just dri fit one like the silky kind. I could use one or two of those but I don’t need them either!

Anyways love  you all so much! Talk to you in a week!

Love- Elder Houston

This pic is a few days ago when we got a downpour. It was raining so hard. This is me and some of my good friends in the zone! I love them all like brothers. We decided for five minutes of comp study that we would all go out and play in it. It was a blessing and was so fun! It was beautiful to see the provo mountains covered in clouds. Elder Godfrey is also in this pic!

This pic is a few days ago when we got a downpour. It was raining so hard. This is me and some of my good friends in the zone! I love them all like brothers. We decided for five minutes of comp study that we would all go out and play in it. It was a blessing and was so fun! It was beautiful to see the provo mountains covered in clouds. Elder Godfrey is also in this pic!

This pic is a few days ago when we got a downpour. It was raining so hard. This is me and some of my good friends in the zone! I love them all like brothers. We decided for five minutes of comp study that we would all go out and play in it. It was a blessing and was so fun! It was beautiful to see the provo mountains covered in clouds. Elder Godfrey is also in this pic!

This pic is a few days ago when we got a downpour. It was raining so hard. This is me and some of my good friends in the zone! I love them all like brothers. We decided for five minutes of comp study that we would all go out and play in it. It was a blessing and was so fun! It was beautiful to see the provo mountains covered in clouds. Elder Godfrey is also in this pic!

This pic is of me and Elder Lee! He is in the other district that got here at the same time as us. He is one of my best friends and i love him to death! He is korean but lived in LA. I just took this pic moments ago. He is going to new york korean speaking!

This pic is of me and Elder Lee! He is in the other district that got here at the same time as us. He is one of my best friends and i love him to death! He is korean but lived in LA. I just took this pic moments ago. He is going to new york korean speaking!

Leave a Reply

