Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 6 – Hey Everyone!

Leave a comment

How are all of you?? I hope so so good! I loved getting all your letters and reading them! It makes me so happy to hear you are all doing so well! Okay first off….. Holy ABBEY!!!! THAT IS WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT!! Great job on making varsity tennis for state! That is such an amazing accomplishment especially as a freshmen! I am so proud of you and want to remind you to keep working hard at it and you will go far!  Okay so there is not a ton of things to right about this week I don’t think just same ole’ lots of learning class time spirit and the usual. I will share a few things but other then that I am going to spend most of the time answering questions this week.

Some of the cool things that happened this week is we got to here Elder M. Russel Ballard talk this week and it was so amazing. He started and said I have grand kids on missions and I want to talk to all of you as if you were my grand kids and I was giving you advice on your mission. There was not a subject just advice on working hard and his testimony. It was so so so amazing, he has an amazing calming comforting voice and way about him. One quote I really liked is when he said, “When you get my age every morning the alarm goes off and I look over and say, ‘well I’m still here so the Lord has something important for me to do today so I better get up and figure out what that is’ I wish I would have learned this at a younger age. Every morning wake up and realize the Lord has something important for you to do.” It was an amazing quote and I know we all have something majorly important to do every morning when we wake up! We need to pray and Plead…. not just ask but plead to know God’s will and know who needs our help and influence that day. If we do this we will feel the spirit and be able to discern what we need to do. We are NOTHING without Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ but through them we can be amazing tools if we seek the will of The Father.

Another big emphasis this week is God’s incomprehensible love for each and every one of us. Our district had a devotional review after Elder Ballard’s talk and it was so spiritual. I grew so much from my districts testimonies and had the opportunity to share mine on several different things with them. A couple things I liked from my district is how much God truly loves us. Love is one of the most powerful forces on this earth and this earthly love doesn’t even begin to comprehend the amount of love that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ have for us. Jesus Christ died, and suffered and agony that made the very son of God even Jesus Christ bleed from every pore and ask if there be any other way let it be done. Heavenly Father had to go to the furthest corner of the Universe in order to let Jesus Christ his only begotten suffer this atonement. Christ suffer because he loves us. He went through this for one reason, so he, our eldest brother, our savior and king, could hug you again, talk to you again, talk about old times with you again. He truly loves us beyond anything we can comprehend and as a missionary I want to try my hardest to display a part of that Christ like love to everyone, look at people as Christ would and love them as Christ would.

Okay so after the good spiritual stuff I will now say the not so cool stuff. So the Elder are singing in the priesthood session of choir and you had to go to choir and fill out a survey. I filled mine out and the questions were okay and I felt okay about it even if I didn’t make it. But then the next day almost all the Elders except me and a few others got a letter to invite them to sing.. I was more qualified with music then most of them as was a few of the other kids and we were really devasted when we realized they just went through and picked out the very best singers (college choir status) (Elder Brantley) and the rest were just random selection. Most of the Elders get to go and sing and I don’t. I was really devastated by this and wondered why? The other thing was my companion really likes to brag about it which is frustrating but I am trying to understand and have got to rely on the Lord for strength for something that does seem small but at the time was really big to me. It is still frustrated but maybe the lord has something for me to do or learn during all the rehearsal time. The one other Elder in my district that didn’t get in was Elder Ellingford, (he is secretly one of my favorites) so I am looking forward to being on splits with him and getting to know him more. It was really unfortunate but I am trying super hard to see the positive side of it. I am so excited to see conference, I am so excited to see the modern prophet, Thomas S. Monson speak to us. He is a truly amazing man. We are so blessed to have modern prophets in this dispensation. One of the biggest things that my testimony has increased on is modern prophets and apostles. Joseph Smith and all the Prophets and apostle since him and all of them now. I encourage you to listen and cherish every word they say. We can learn so much from there wisdom and I am so excited to here again from a prophet of God in this general conference. It will be amazing and I am so excited!

Okay question answering time…..

I have not really got the itch to get out of here. There are days when it gets rough and I want to leave but the spirit is so strong that it is hard to be frustrated. You can feel the spirit so strongly all the time and what and amazing experience that has been.

I won’t hear about visa and flight plans until the day after next p day!

My companion and I are still good, we are like brothers but as with anybody we do get sick of each other. That is part of life and learning to cope and we do a good job. One of my weaknesses is being jealous of him. He is so smart and the language comes to him ridiculously easy. He knows like 4 languages and he looks at a word once and has it forever. It is amazing and sometimes can frustrate me. But it is also a blessing because I have always loved the challenge of keeping up with somebody and it gives me motivation. It has motivated and helped me a tone. I have been able to progress a lot faster because of him constantly challenging and pushing me cause I want to keep up. I love the language a lot and am doing good with it and am thankful for being pushed to learn. I have to work a lot harder to learn and memorize but the lord is playing my competitive side and so I keep pushing to learn it! haha the Lord knows us so well it’s awesome.

I am not really craving anything! I’m content! Thank you for offering though!

Oh and thanks Dad for some good advice! It was super helpful!!

I love you all so so much and you are all amazing!

Love,

Elder Houston 

with elder Ammon Finau

with elder Ammon Finau

We tied Elder Weiss to the bed just for fun!

We tied Elder Weiss to the bed just for fun!

My District

My District

My MTC Brothers

My MTC Brothers

Just outside decided to take a district picture . Teacher is in middle, Sister Simonson

Just outside decided to take a district picture . Teacher is in middle, Sister Simonson

It was Eder Grove's birthday so we decorated his room when he showered.

It was Eder Grove’s birthday so we decorated his room when he showered.

Celebrating Elder Groves B-Day

Celebrating Elder Groves B-Day

Leave a Reply

