Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 1 in Korea!

Leave a comment

Hello my sweet family!!!! How are you? You sound great, I am so jealous of hunting and the ranch looks Beautiful!!!! Holy cow it looks awesome! Dad you were probably being nice and didn’t shoot one on purpose this year just so I wouldn’t get as homesick! Haha. Okay so I have so much to say and don’t know how I will say it all! Haha okay maybe I will do the Everyday of the week thing and then answer any questions I missed.

Saying Goodbye to Elder Sederholm

Saying Goodbye to Elder Sederholm

Okay so Monday which was also Tuesday (10/14) in Korea, My first impression as we flew in was, “Holy cow it is so so flat

On the Plane with Elder Hong

On the Plane with Elder Hong

 here” but it is okay it isn’t as bad as it looked! We got to Korea at like3ish and met President Christensen and the AP’s at the airport! They were so awesome! We got all our bags and put them in 2 vans and

 then the AP’s took us through the subways and buses to the presidents house and we had a book of Mormon and 5proselyting cards to give out in Korean. We have hardly ever practiced proselyting and I was way scary but we jumped in and really tried. I actually found a guy and he was way nice and gave him a Book of Mormon and got his number. My companion and I will try to contact him soon we just haven’t had time because we have been busy! We then got to President Christensen’s house and ate kimchi and rice and had an interview and wet to bed. We were exhausted!

Wednesday (10/15), we got up and had breakfast with the President and his wife! Then we went to a meeting and met all the trainers but didn’t know our companions yet! We had a meeting or two and then President Christensen

Elder Houston with New Companion, Elder LeeWonHyung

Elder Houston with New Companion, Elder LeeWonHyung

 announced companions and I was first will Elder LeeWonHyung.! He is my companion and lived in Janjew in the Taijen mission area before his mission and he is obviously Korean from his name and he is awesome! He is in his last two transfers and will be training me for the last two and he even asked to be a trainer so he could share what he has learned before he goes! He has been serving as a zone leader for the last 7 transfers! He loves b ball and I heard he is way good! We talk about basketball a lot and it is so awesome we have so much in common and he is so amazing! After we met we had another meeting and then we took my stuff and started for our area! We are Pig Intestine Soupin an area called Jangwi and we are opening the area so we have 0 Investigators and had nothing and it was open a long time ago but it was such a hard and unsuccessful area that it closed! It is on the outskirts of Seoul! It is kind of the “Scums” of Seoul but it is so amazing. It is kind of sketchy and my companion says it is sketchy all the time and I tell him it isn’t that bad! Haha.

Eating Pig Intestine Soup - My First Meal in my first area

Eating Pig Intestine Soup – My First Meal in my first area

 We got there and got to our new house which has nothing in it so we need to get stuff for it cause we just live out of our suitcases on the floor right now but we got a few things now in there!

We got there and went to eat dinner. He took me to a restaurant and got me a soup. He told me it was Pig Intestine soup and I had to eat it! The Korean owner was excited to see my reaction and was disappointed when I ate it said it tasted good! I thought it was fine! It was a little weird but I ate it fine and ate it all! After we went to the church and copied the member record and then proselyted on the street til we needed to plan and go to bed!

Thursday (10/16), Nothing crazy on thursday just we proselyted and my companion really pushes me and makes me talk and struggle and I learn a lot fast and I am so grateful! We get along so good! I met our district on Thursday and we went to a buffet and ate all kinds of stuff including octopus and sushi and stuff and it was soooo good. Korean food is like the best thing I have ever had! I love every meal and just eat so much and oh man it is all so good and so healthy! My district is awesome and very mature mission wise except for me. The next closest kid has been here for 7 transfers! The rest are almost done! Haha it is crazy but they are all awesome and tell me my korean is good. Then I call them liars in korean! haha but they seem pretty genuine and my district leader is awesome! He is so kind and loving and amazing!

Eatin good, good food!

Eatin good, good food!

Friday (10/17), Okay so we proselyting and my companion approaches anyone and everyone and makes me to and I don’t speak korean and he lets me struggle until they go to leave and then he helps and it helps me a lot and the korean people either love me or hate me so sometimes the spirit guides me to somebody with patience and sometimes I choose wrong and they won’t listen! My companion is really good and loving and teases me after which really helps lighten the mood when I feel like I messed up.  I am already so much better than I was. We practice so much in korean! So crazy story, we were knocking doors that night and we heard this crazy Buddha chant and came upon a house where an old lady was chanting loudly a buddha chant and was banging on a gong with her door and all her windows open! My companion informed me that it was a chant to call in ghost’s and told

My first apartment - No furniture yet

My first apartment – No furniture yet

 me to ring the gate bell! He was freaking out when I did it and usually they come on the speaker and say who is it and we answer but she unlocked her giant gate so it unlatched and then opened slightly and we both were way scared. He said go up and I told him he was the trainer he had to and he said no it was my turn so I lead the way and we walked just inside and I yelled Kay seyo(is anybody there) you do that at every door through the door before they answer and her chant got louder and so I asked again and she got really loud and starting hitting the gong way hard so I looked at my comp and he took off so I took off and after we were laughing but like scared laughing and it was crazy! Haha he wanted to show me her dance she was probably doing but we got too scared! He doesn’t scare easily either so it made me nervous! haha it was AWESOME!!

Saturday (10/18), Okay Highlight of saturday. We were making calls in the Bishops office and some sisters were practicing a piano piece for sacrament and suddenly we got a text saying a drunk

Study & Call

Study & Call

 guy walked in and they needed help. We went down and he was just telling stories and stunk of alcohol so bad and we had English class soon so my companion talked him down a little and he loved me for some reason and kept arm wrestling me but was too drunk to arm wrestle so that was weird! We got him out and just before Engish class started he walked in with his old bible! We grabbed him and he wanted to sing so we took him upstairs and my comp and I played piano for him and sang songs and kept him entertained. As my comp continued to sing I used the pics at the beginning of the book of mormon and started teaching him and then he go a little heated so my comp started talking to him and there is no arguing with a drunk guy. Pretty soon he pulled out a cigarette and my companion said no and tried to stop him

Key Shop

Key Shop

but he lit it and demanded another song so we went out to grab a hymn book and said a quick prayer for help and that he would stop smoking and we came back in and he just wasn’t smoking any more and was calm as a cucumber! We sang Joseph Smiths first prayer and the spirit was strong. He gave me his bible and I said thank you and we sent him on his way. So I have a Korean bible that I don’t think is the same as ours. They say that the best smell in church is alcohol and smoke…. Well we took that to a whole new level!

Sunday (10/19), Sunday was aweosme. We met the members and they are so awesome! They all loved me and ya! I found out I had to talk and introduced myself and freaked a little…. So I got up said I have been here for 6 days I know little korean but I am learning. Then I said I ate pig intestines and they were delicious and they laughed and then I said I came on a mission because I have a testimony of this gospel and then bore my testimony and sat down! They all said my korean was so good and tried to talk their Engish to me those who could!  They were awesome! We also fasted for  help finding investigators. We did find 5 this week which is a ton but we don’t know if they will stick so more on that later.

Today (10/20), we went to the immigration office and got some stuff for me done and that was in the big city and it was way cool to see!

Okay I am running out of time but I wanted to tell you some nick names  have been called, Naughty face-I said hi to an old lady at english class and she was terrified and all the missionaries were confused and asked why and she said I had a naughty face and I said no I am nice and she said oh and then shook my hand and said don’t be offended, you are nice! Haha the little kids are the cutest things ever and they call me keegkkoyo which means big and tall, and the teenagers call me movie start cause I look like a movie star to them cause they watch American movies, then some girls called me batman cause they said I look like him soo.. ya! The people in Jangwi do notice a tall white american walking their streets and sometimes we knock doors and they say oh I have seen you by the church! Haha ya I have more but I am running out of time! I love you all and I know God answers prayers and we can do hard things! Love you all

Love,

Elder Houston

Fake Bear

Fake Moose

Fake Bear with Elder LeeWonHyung

Fake Bear with Elder LeeWonHyung

Fake Bear

Fake Bear

Leave a Reply

