Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 2 in Korea –

Leave a comment

Hey family!!! How are you all! Ahhh I am so blessed to get to email you every week! It makes me so so so happy! You all sound great! The video of Tyson was perfect and hilarious! I am so happy Dad shot a deer and had a nice beard in the picture! I showed a family we taught our family pictures and they said he looks so young so I showed them a pic of him with a beard and they said that made him looked more like he was my dad! Haha I think Korean people are hilarious! Mom your testimony on prayer was awesome and it is crazy how similar we are because my testimony on prayer grew so so much this week. I got my first real taste of home sickness this week and had to get on my knees and rely on prayer and wow the Lord knows exactly how to help us! I also have had a little language frustration but I have been able to pray and overcome. There are also times when we have no success and I pray and I get an answer and a miracle in some way! There are also times this week when I was scared and said a prayer and found so much power and strength knowing the Lord and a host of angels was right behind me! My testimony of prayer has grown a ton and I appreciate it so much!

Quick update: We are up to 10 investigators which is a lot for 2 weeks. Kind of a super big miracle to find 10 people in Jangwii especially in 2 weeks but we have about 7 progressing too! It is exciting!

Okay I’m going to go through the days of the week again. Some are loaded with stuff and some are short!

Tuesday 10/21/14: Nothing to crazy happened on Tuesday. We really needed a map of our area and to find out how big our area is so we had to go to the big city and go to a place and got a bunch of great maps and at no charge which was a little blessing considering we don’t have a ton of money to through around. We went back and I used my incredible artsy skills and I cut out the maps and taped them together and taped them up to the wall and now we have what you could call a map…. haha it actually has been really helpful though and we don’t get lost nearly as much.

Wednesday 10/22/14: Wednesday was a really good day. As we proselyted I approached a man who I thought was Korean and said hello. He looked at me funny not expecting Korean then said in English, “I don’t know a lot of Korean.” My mouth dropped open because I had been frustrated and needed a success and an opportunity to share the message and I didn’t know if that was just the gift of tongues to the max or if he really didn’t speak Korean! I said “OH good, me neither.” He chuckled and I asked what he was doing in Korea. He said his wife was Korean (she speaks English as well) and they were living there for a few months. As I got to know him I found out he was from India and was Buddhist. He did have an Indian accent and was way cool to talk to! I got to lead the convo completely and helped my companion understand even though he speaks okay broken English! He shared some of his personal beliefs and told me he studied Christianity for a project for school and thought it was cool. I shared a little about our beliefs that went along with his and showed him the great book called the Book of Mormon and told him about it. I asked after if he would accept the book and he hesitated but said yes. I asked if we could meet again so we could get to know him more and share more of our message. He said he wanted to, but he would be in Japan for the next 10ish days but gave us his number and said call when he gets back so we will and hopefully we will be able to meet him! Later on we were teaching English class and there were no men so we left because it is just smart to leave, so we went back to our house to do some calls and we were a little earlier then usual. I had a strong, strong feeling that we should go tract! So I told my companion once we were all settle in and he said “okay let’s do it”, and we went out and had zero success. I was confused and down as we headed back. My companion tried one last time for the night and said “Hi” to a guy and he said “Hi”. He walked up to me and said he could “throw me down” because he played sports too and I just said “Okay, want to hear the gospel and about Jesus?”  He looked at me and said, “Yeah I do.” so we started talking to him and we said “would you like to come to our church so we could teach a lesson?”  He said Yes! He was a little drunk but not enough to not know what he was doing. We taught him a lesson and it went pretty good but I don’t want to say to much more about this man, He had just been into and still was part of some serious stuff and recently had wanted to turn his life around. We hope to meet again and help him.

At a traditional sit on the floor restaurant

At a traditional sit on the floor restaurant

Thursday 10/23/14: Thursday was so jam packed and busy. We did a lot! A few cool things was we had lunch withone of my comps friends from a different area in our mission who was less active and we wanted to see if we could help him. We ate at a sit on the floor restaurant and no shoes which was cool, but the kid we were with we didn’t make much progress with but hopefully we affected him in some way. Right after we went to a members house who invited us over to visit and said she would give us food because I guess rumor has it that we have no food at all because we are new and are in a new house for the mission.(True fact!!!) We

Stretching Out at a sit on the floor restaurant

Stretching Out at a sit on the floor restaurant

really didn’t know what we were going to do about food. We went over expecting to get maybe some rice and some kimchi which we would be so happy to eat that night and would be so grateful for. We showed up, talked for just a minute, and told them we didn’t have a lot of time so we wanted to share a thought with them before our next appointment. We shared a short message and they were happy! They gave us a bag of rice and some dried apples and we were so grateful! We were a ways from our house so they offered to drive us home! We said it is okay but they insisted. We got in the back and they drove us home. When we got there we thanked them and He said “hold on!” He hopped out and opened the back and informed us this was all for us too. It was a box about my size, chuck full of food and cereal and frosted flakes (my favorite) and milk and just everything we could possibly want! I almost cried I was so happy and thankful to them! They are amazing and I will forever remember that they did that for us! We threw that food in our house quickly and took off to meet a man that I talked to on the phone! We went to his house and I was so so humbled by his living conditions. It was a cracked and uneven cement hall to a room smaller then our bathroom that he lived, slept, ate, and did everything in. He offered us some very dirty water and I thought, “My mom is gonna flip,” but I could not refuse this man’s humble offer so I downed it! Ha I feel great too! Immune system strong! We talked to him and found out more about him. He was very successful and had a great life until the economy crashed and he lost a lot of money and his job. He found another job after bankruptcy and started again and after a little while at this job his son died in a car accident in college. He spent all he had on his funeral and was bankrupt again. He couldn’t find a job and then his wife divorced him so he moved to were he is and stopped caring and tried to ignore everything. He doesn’t think God loves him and we are trying so hard to help him! He is amazing and we hope he reads the verses in the Book of Mormon we asked before our next meeting! After we headed to a dinner appointment with a member and we got there a little early so we decided to knock doors around his place and were a little down from the story we just heard. We couldn’t get anybody to open there gate to us and it was hard. This is when we said a short prayer and the next door a sweet old couple asked who is it and then opened the gate and the door and let us in. We did begin teaching and got to know them a little and then said we had a dinner appointment at 7 so the grandma quickly said oh you need to go and grabbed some yogurt and gave it to us and said come back later please and so we hope to maybe tonight! We headed to our dinner appointment and it was on the 17th floor a beautiful apartment that overlooked Seoul. His house is beautiful! He is the Old Bishop and is so awesome and likes me and to teased me cause I am the greeny! He talks to me in Konglish and we try to communicate but we can still joke and it is funny cause we don’t know each others language well so when we can say something funny it is like 4X funnier! It was a great time and that was my 4th time sitting cross legged on the floor that day and so I was about to die so I kept adjusting and he noticed and laughed at me and told me to stretch out and I jumped on that invitation! It was so nice and my hips are still recovering from that day! My companion and I gave the spiritual thought and I lead the thought and they all said my Korean was great and I just say thank you even though I know I messed up a bunch! haha okay that is a basic summary of Thursday!

 Friday 10/24/14: Very average day, I got a little homesick on Friday and we just tracted and proselyted all day!

More Halloween Party

More Halloween Party

Saturday 10/25/14: I got better later in the day Friday but got home sick a little again on Saturday but then I said a prayer and we went to English class and it was really fun and made me happier and then we had a Halloween party that we put on so we worked through dinner setting up and then did it and it was a blast and turned out really good! It was in our church and it lifted my spirits so much and our bishop made me play a balloon popping game with them and I felt so close to the ward members who were there even though I can’t really talk that much to them! It was cool how my prayer was answered! I felt like I had a family there and felt cared about and it was so weird how it happened!

In charge of a game at the party

In charge of a game at the party

Halloween Party

Halloween Party

Halloween Party at the church

Halloween Party at the church

Halloween Party - The Bishop is standing on the chair

Halloween Party – The Bishop is standing on the chair

Sunday 10/26/14: Church obviously. That night we home taught a family with the ym pres. who studied at oxford in England so he knows English and it was awesome. I got close to the family that we taught and I taught about half that lesson as well. I also used my pictures in this lesson which helped them open up to me and my comp. and the ym pres! It was cool!

Wow! Well that is a lot and it was a great week! I know God answers our prayers, whether we say them on our knees or in our mind or just a silent prayer we offer subconsiously, he answers all of them! And loves us enough to give us exactly what we need to keep going and keep doing his work! This work is amazing! I miss you all and love you all so much!

 Love,

Elder Houston

Soap on a Stick

Soap on a Stick

Konglish

Konglish

It is called the Kimchi Squat Here

It is called the Kimchi Squat Here

Sleeping Quarters

Sleeping Quarters

Sketchy Places

Sketchy Places

Spider

Spider

Big Korean Spider - I thought my brothers would like

Big Korean Spider – I thought my brothers would like

Leave a Reply

