Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 5 – Korea has a cold Seoul!

2 Comments

My subject is clever huh?? hehe I think so! so yes to answer your questions Korea is freezing cold. I already am close to the coldest I have ever been in my life and they say it isn’t even cold yet….. haha but I am stoked! It is gonna be a party! I haven’t even got my big coat out yet so I will be fine! No worries!

Tuesday 11/11– We took some bebero (which is a popular korean candy) to members and it was the bebero national holiday that day. In korean it is spelled 빼빼로! Then we did 가가호호(tracting) and we met a nice old lady with a super cute dog that reminded me of rusty and we gave the sisters the referral to go to her house because her husband had passed away so we can’t teach her!

My companion and I with 빼빼로 (candy) boxes for our members

My companion and I with 빼빼로 (candy) boxes for our members

 빼빼로 (candy) boxes

빼빼로 (candy) boxes

My companion and I with 빼빼로 (candy) boxes for our members

My companion and I with 빼빼로 (candy) boxes for our members

Wednesday 11/12 – Okay so district meeting today! What a treat it was! Haha we learned about charity and love and she asked if we knew an example of charity and love and I shook my head and nobody else did so she told me to please share…. Haha so I told her the person that popped into my head immediately! Guess who??? I bet you can guess? My MOM!! Haha they asked why and I told them because that is the closest to a perfect unconditional love that I know and that is the closest to a Christlike charity that I know other than christ himself and then I got choked up (note: choked up is different then crying. #manly) when I told of how my mom unconditionally loves and cares for me and always is there for me! I told of how she cares so much to hear from me every week and that she doesn’t even realize how much comfort and peace and happiness her words provide me all the time! Even now! Sometimes I think she knows me better than I know me. But hey that is fine! Also we had english class and I taught a guy who was just awesome and he really liked me so I was happy and I also taught a member and after the lesson he helped get us on a gospel subject and then I took over and taught  brief principles and asked to meet again and got his number and the member patted my back and walked off smiling! This man now has been to church and has been taught all of the restoration and will be baptized on Dec. 20th. Heavenly Father has prepared him and he is teaching him and we are simply here for him to put the spirit into to help him learn from the spirit about Christ! It was way cool! Also we had the first snow here on Wednesday.

Getting ready to get cold!

Getting ready to get cold!

Getting ready to get cold!

Getting ready to get cold!

Thursday 11/13– We met and taught a less active first today and then did 전도 (proselyting) until we had a 식사(dinner appointment) with a kind lady and her husband and a friend! It was delicious! Thursday was also the coldest day ever. Haha brother 박변훈 called us the night before and ran up some nice jackets and one actually fit me great and has been so great! Haha luckily I had it because I didn’t want to get my big coat out yet! Haha but I probably will have to soon!

We found some cool wall pics!

We found some cool wall pics!

We found some cool wall pics!

We found some cool wall pics!

We found some cool wall pics!

We found some cool wall pics!

With a less active member

With a less active member

Don't feed the big monkey in the middle!

Don’t feed the big monkey in the middle!

Cool play ground

Cool play ground

Friday 11/14– Today is when we taught 공순호 (kong-sun-ho) our english class investigator the first lesson and also when he committed to baptism and is progressing nicely! He told us about these cool mountain weight sets that were free close to our house. So we went and checked it out while tracting and it was awesome! It was so nice to be in trees. It was a Korean mountain, but a Korean mountain is about the size of the hill next to our house! My area is very hilly! Very very hilly but no really big mountains so ya! but it was still way cool and there was some good look off points of Seoul and I finally realized I was in the 3rd biggest city in the world and how big it was and was freaking out for a second! Haha it was fun!

Night pic from the mountain(hill)

Night pic from the mountain(hill)

We got a call mid-meal!

We got a call mid-meal!

Saturday 11/15– We just did a whole lot of proselyting even some separated by crosswalks and then a lot of door knocking! We also went to an awesome bakery and I love bakeries and carbs tasted super good and it gave a christmas feel to life and was really nice! I think Christmas is actually going to be really big here so that will be fun!!

Sunday 11/16– 공순호 our investigator came to church this day and also he brought a friend! They only stayed for sacrament but 2 INVESTIGATORS AT CHURCH! Holy smoly what a treat! I was praying so hard they would come and then bam! My prayer was answered double time! He was late because he was getting a friend! Haha that was fine! We hope to teach them both soon! That night we had a dinner appointment with the member from english class that helped get us on a gospel subject and it was awesome food but made me and my companion super sick this morning! but that is okay it wore off fast. The Bishop and his family were also there and as we were going to give the thought for the night the kids got really noisy and it is so hard to speak a langauge you don’t know with screaming kids and invite the spirit so I got flustered and embarrassed and didn’t know what to do. This is where I prayed and had an answer in a way I didn’ expect. So Korean kids are so adorable and the Brother’s, whose house we were at, son is so adorable and sweet and everyone loves him and I have never talked to him before because I don’t speak Korean yet but he was being quiet and listening. I would guess he is 2 or 3 max and he was drinking a sippy cup and kept trying to get away from his dad for some reason and come to me. Finally he escaped and we all watched to see what he was going to do and he came over to me and I was sitting kimchi squat (cross legged) style on the floor and he came over and sat in my lap and leaned back and drank his sippy cup. Now we aren’t supposed to pick up kids so I didn’t know if this was picking up a kid or not. My companion and the families said it was adorable and okay. For some reason I felt so much peace. I don’t have a picture but with him in my lap I was able to focus and finish the message. Haha it was awesome. He just wanted to sit in my lap and it was super cute and made me happy. It is all about the little things like that!

A big thing I have learned about this week is sincere prayers. We can kneel and thank our heavenly father for everything for an hour straight or plead and plead with him for help and strength and anything else but if it is not sincere, and I mean truly and deeply sincere then we may not receive an answer. The more sincere we are, the more God knows how much we mean what we say and also how much we truly have desire to talk to him. We can find true answers but we have to have a burning desire to understand and be humbled so much to the point that we can no longer stand but only can drop to our knees and plead to understand more. Or be so full of gratitude that we can only help but drop to our knees and thank Heavenly Father so sincerely and promise to serve him and do something to help another one of his children! I love the gospel and I know it is true. Faith is not  perfect Knowledge but an assurance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1 footnote b.) We don’t need to have a perfect knowledge just a perfect brightness of hope and desire to know and feel the truthfulness and we will be able to find truth and peace and comfort! I think it is really interesting how hope and desire is the same word in Korean. 소망 means both hope and desire. They go hand in hand. If we hope for things we desire for them to come to pass! I learn so much on my mission and just want to tell so much but I only have so much time to email! I love you all so much and miss you! This gospel is so true and makes me happy and will forever and ever! Love you all so much!

Love,

Elder Houston

2 thoughts on “Week 5 – Korea has a cold Seoul!

  1. Woe !! Cool Korean symbols I just love Taylor and his letters!!! I’m not surprised that everyone in Korea loves him. What’s not to love? Right!! So sweet. . . You are an awesome mother. Have a great day!! Love you, Miriam

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • Thanks Miriam! There is no word to describe the many emotions of being a missionary mom (or Dad). Sunday evenings are like Christmas for John and I and our whole family. We are proud of our missionary and proud of the many great examples in our lives!
      We love reading Janessa’s emails as well. We knew she would be an amazing missionary! We are lucky mommas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

