Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 6 – Last week of my first transfer in the field!

Leave a comment

Well as of today I am in my 2nd transfer in Korea! Holy cow that is crazy and awesome! I will first take you through my week and then share a few things I have had the opportunity to reflect on about my first transfer!

Tuesday (11/18) – So I didn’t know about this but my companion was going on exchange with our DL (District Leader) so they came monday night and said, “oh you are going to the other elders house……” and I had five minutes before I was going to have to call the assistants to the president because I was late!  I was a little upset with the mis-communication but I packed as fast as I could and sprinted with Elder Lee (the other elder Lee not my companion) to the house. We ended up being late and so he said “Will you call the AP’s?”  and I said “NO”!  Haha, I then knelt and prayed while he called and asked for strength and help to be nicer and be in a better mood.  It was not their fault either.  I did find comfort and I apologized to him and the next day we had a great exchange! We met with a cool Chinese student and taught him and then we had an awesome experience! We were knocking doors and we came to a split and I asked where do you feel we should go Elder? He said that way looks brighter so I said ok. We went and met an awesome lady who we referred to the sisters. Then we went to meet a guy but he didn’t show up so we decided to start where we left off with knocking doors and we got do this same exact split and nothing at all had changed but as I looked I said, “Elder, doesn’t the other way look brighter now? and he said yeah it does.” So we went that way and met several people who had just got home from work within a few minutes and were very nice and got some numbers and had more success then usual. It was a very cool experience!

Wednesday (11/19)- Nothing crazy! District meeting and English class. I taught our investigator English! gongsoonho!

MTC Homies

MTC Homies

MTC  District...Together again!

MTC District…Together again!

Elder Houston & Sederholm MTC Companions!

Elder Houston & Sederholm MTC Companions!

Thursday (11/20)-We went to something called 12 week follow-up! The first twelve weeks we do a special program and we did a follow up on it so I got together again with all my friends from the MTC! It was so awesome to see them all! They are all doing great and it was a fun day. We got some amazing council from President Christensen which I was thankful for! Then after the AP’s said we had packages outside. We were a long ways from home and I went out and had two packages! One from my family and one from Grandma and Grandpa Baldwin! Then I had a letter from Court and her Mom and one from my little brothers! I was like a giddy little boy… who am I kidding I am a giddy little boy sometimes!  Between my comp and I we had our side bags full of stuff for the meeting we just went to, a guitar, two pretty big packages and 2 letters to get back. We get places by public transportation and a lot of walking and so we started our hour long trek back. Unfortunately the walking was the easy part. Because in big city Seoul public transport is: squeeze as many people in a subway or bus and then go fast, fast, fast! So we were crammed in and the packages were just in the most awkward positions and I couldn’t help but laugh! Haha we got back and I opened the one from my family and put all the presents in a basket! I was so happy! you should have seen my face! And My comp and I got those awesome ties and are so excited to wear them together!! Then I opened the letter form Courtney and Mama Allred and then I opened my little brothers letters! I don’t think I could have been more happy with all the stuff I had just got! Haha thank you so much for the love and the packages and letters! They were a true blessing!

Packages from home!

Packages from home!

Packages from home!

Packages from home!

Friday (11/21)-We did a ton of contacting today and that is it!

Saturday (11/22)-We went to a Baptismal service today for one of my companions old investigators! It was really cool too see! That night we got our transfer calls. My comp and I are both staying, but my DL is being transferred and my comp is the new DL! So that is cool!

Sunday (11/23)- Church, I did LPP (language progression program) pass off today with my district leader and it went good! It was fun and I will do it with my zone leaders after I pass a few more things of with my companion as DL! We also had dinner with the Temple presidents 2nd counselor. He is in our ward and it was fun!  My stomach has not been very good lately so I have tried to not eat to much crazy stuff but his wife wanted me specifically to eat so much stuff and I did not feel good after! Haha but that is okay I feel better now and she was happy when I ate all her stuff so it was all good!

Okay, so as I have reflected on this transfer, I am amazed at how much I have grown and how much I have learned. But that isn’t what I was most amazed at. The thing that I realized the most was how much I need to learn and how much I need to grow! I have been sooo soo humbled this transfer and I have been so blessed.  It amazes me that the Lord trust somebody like me to represent him. I have so many faults and short comings and he is so perfect yet he trusts me to represent him and I realize the weight of this calling and am honored to have it!  My relationship with God is so much stronger.  At home it is easy to find comfort in others or distract yourself during a hard time but on a mission you have to face it directly and bravely and I am now so much more grateful for prayer, that precious time I have to converse with my Heavenly Father. What an amazing blessing it is to have at any given time, any moment, any place, any condition, we can address him and He will not forsake us, Ever!  He loves us more than we can understand in this mortal state. I have felt the comfort and love of his almighty hands and the hands of his servants, His “concourses of angels” who surround and support all his missionaries.  I also know and realize what a blessing it is to have modern prophets and apostles. When I was on exchange I approached a guy from Pakistan to see if he spoke english. He did and I started talking to him. He was Muslim and was suprised when I said we have a prophet. He asked who? I got choked up as I told him the beloved name of our prophet, Thomas Spencer Monson. He asked if I thought he was a modern prophet and I was so happy to be able to answer with 100% confidence and say, “I know that he is the Prophet of God because even not having ever met him I have prayed and felt an overwhelming love and confirmation that he is the God’s prophet today on the Earth.” It was an awesome experience and I realized what a blessing it is to be led by a Modern Prophet. I know God loves us and I am so happy to be serving him! I love you all and miss you all!

 Love,

Elder Houston

Cool Park we went to on P-Day

Cool Park we went to on P-Day

Cool Park we went to on P-Day

Cool Park we went to on P-Day

Leave a Reply

