Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

2nd transfer 시작(start)

Leave a comment

Okay I am officially in my second transfer in Korea! Wow! That is just crazy! It is also December and almost Christmas time! Wow that is crazy too! It is so crazy how different life is here compared to your lives at home! Hahaha but I get so excited reading your letters and I am having so much fun and learning so much! I’ll take you through another week in Korea.

Monday 11/24 – It was the best PDay! Emailing was so awesome and I was so happy after and then I went to go play basketball.  I was nervous because everyone always told me how good my companion was and he wanted to go pro, maybe the NBA, and he always said how he was going to the NBA and would say that the other players were really good too. So I went there expecting to be playing with some college grade athletes. I was excited to play but when we got there everybody was not nearly as good as I expected! I was disappointed while watching but it ended up being so so so fun!  I felt like I established myself in the mission a little bit which was nice. I played with and against the AP’s and zone leaders from all over and we had a lot of fun with them! We also played with a member and a potential investigator and just had a lot of fun with all of them!

Tuesday 11/25 – today we had a lot of good appointments scheduled and they all got cancelled or we got punked. It was a pretty rough day all in all. But I want to share a little miracle that happened. So sometimes on your mission hard things build up and you are holding it all down and something little just is the “straw that breaks the camels back”. Well I got home and my razor had died so I plugged it in and it wouldn’t charge. That seems like such a minor thing, but for some reason that was the straw and I was just distraught about the dumb razor. I didn’t want to throw a nice razor from home away because it wouldn’t charge. I called the ZL’s and got permission to buy a new razor and so I went and bought a cheap razor from nearby store and went back to charge it. I had been praying my razor would work and had one last desperate thought. What if the new razors charger will fit my razor? I told my companion and he said no way because it is a korean plug not american. Well, I pulled it out and it looked fairly close to the right size so I got my hopes all up again! So I tried to plug it in and……… drum roll………. IT did NOT work! There was a part in the middle that was blocking the plug from going in. I thought no way but didn’t want to give up, so I got a knife and I cut out the middle part thinking it would break my razor and I turned the plug backwards to plug-in, and at this point I was laughing at my pathetic attempt to fix this razor. I said one last pray and had one last ounce of faith that this would work. So I plugged it in and …. the green light turned on meaning it was charging! I looked at my companion with a shocked face and he looked down and could not believe it was charging. I let it sit for a minute and picked it up and it had a charge to it and could work. I was so grateful and this small and simple miracle meant the world to me. I quickly went to my room and thanked the Lord so much for this miracle to help me look forward to the future! My razor works great now and now I have two but that is okay! It was such a miracle and I know it was and answer to my prayers and even though it was small and simple our Heavenly Father knows exactly what we need. To any person or at any other time that situation could mean nothing but to me at that time, it meant everything.

Wednesday 11/26 – We met with a less active kid. He was awesome and it went really well and he and his family came to church on Sunday! And transfers happened today but I didn’t meet the new missionaries in our district.

Thursday 11/27 – So today we started out and about half way through the day we got a text saying something about thanksgiving. Ha then I remembered that it was thanksgiving. No, I did not do anything special for thanksgiving except for show my thanks by serving my Heavenly Father. I met our new missionaries today. One sister and one Elder, Elder Smith. At first I didn’t know about him but I have ended up really liking him a lot! We also met with our less active friends parents. They are always at work so we went to their restaurant and visited with them and they came to church and it was a miracle and a blessing. We were super busy so I didn’t get a huge chance to reflect on all I am grateful for but then when we got home I said a very long prayer and had the opportunity to think and reflect on how much I am grateful for and the people I am grateful for. I couldn’t find an end. I thanked my Father in Heaven for so many things and had the opportunity to think of all I am grateful for before I went to bed so I did get to have a little personal thanksgiving that night so that was amazing!

Friday 11/28 – Not much today. We visited an investigator old couple but they were really sick so we got them some fruit and left! That is it!

dressed to go out (1024x768)

Dressed to go out

Selfie in the Rain

Selfie in the Rain

Lunch with the district

Lunch with the district

Most the villas here are short. I have hit my head soooo many times! Hahaha

Most the villas here are short.
I have hit my head soooo many times! Hahaha

Most the villas here are short. I have hit my head soooo many times! Hahaha

Most the villas here are short.
I have hit my head soooo many times! Hahaha

Saturday 11/29 -We met with our investigator 이동희 today and it went pretty good! and that is it for today

Sunday 11/30 – We had a baptismal service for one of the other Elders investigators! It was way cool to have one! President came to the baptisms! He comes to all the Jangwi baptisms! Haha! Then that night We had a dinner appointment with the stake president and some other members of the ward. It was way fun. Elder Smith got pretty sick later in the week and Sunday,  but I got to talk to him a lot at the dinner and that is where I found out he is cool! I like him! He seems more real compared to others if that makes sense! Haha and me and him sat next to each other and we are both similar build  and typical americans so we were the jokes of the night for everybody. They had a good time teasing us but we were good about it and they think it is way fun when me, as a greeny responds to something they said because I understood it, so I try really hard! Haha it was a fun night! That night we went back and all apartments in Korea have automatic locks and we got back and ours would not let us in. So we called the AP’s and had to go buy a battery and attach it to the outside of the lock in a way that would give it some juice and got in and hope it will work now! Haha that was fun!

Some Big Leaves I found

Some Big Leaves I found

I tried to take a pic of the snow

I tried to take a pic of the snow

That is about it for this week!  It has been another fun and crazy one! I know that God lives and he loves us. He gives us trials so we can grow and provides comfort and peace as we ask for it. I am learning so much and have so much more to learn. I love you all so much and miss you tons but I am so happy you are having a great time and keeping things tied down on that side of the world. Thank you for your love and prayers.  I feel it daily! I love you all so much!

Love,

Elder Houston

Leave a Reply

