Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week 11 in Korea – Christmas in the Field

Leave a comment

Wow this week was amazing and busy so I am just jumping right into it!

Tuesday 12/23 – We had a great day, we visited some less actives at their restaurant and he needed help covering old pictures, so I got on a sketchy ladder for him and covered them with some sticky brown paper which took a while but was good to help him out! Also that night I did LPP (language progression program) pass off with the AP and passed so I am now a certified teacher in the Korean language so that is pretty cool!

Wednesday 12/24 -We had zone conference and it was AMAZING!!! We had training from the AP’s and President and his wife which were absolutely amazing! I got to see my MTC companion and a few other kids from the MTC which was awesome! We ate and after we watched Ephraim’s rescue! I will share more about that later! I truly love that movie so much though and was touched by it! After conference we went Caroling with our Bishop around to investigators and members houses. It was really fun! After we were done we went to a members house and had a really good meal for Christmas eve and some yummy yummy snacks! It was really good!

Thursday 12/25 – Today was Christmas! My favorite!! Haha it was awesome! I opened my presents from my family and Grandma and Grandpa Baldwin and got some awesome stuff and yummy food! Thanks so much for the Christmas presents! For Christmas we decided to go to outback steak house as a district for lunch! It was really good. Me and Elder Smith got chicken and a burger and split it and it was so good!! Haha I loved it! After we went out and proselyted. We went to a popular subway station and held up a sign of the nativity and I took out little dvd player and went and showed people who would stop and watch! It was cool! After that we went Caroling some more to investigators and members! And that was Christmas in Korea!

Friday 12/26 -I got to call my wonderful family today!!!!!!! It was so amazing to hear from all of them and talk to all of them! I loved it so much! It was awesome and I was so so happy! We went out and had some lessons which went well and got two new investigators today! That night we went to a super super nice buffet with a member who took us there! It was awesome and so so good and I had some real sushi! Haha

Saturday 12/27 – We got a new investigator today which was awesome and another Christmas miracle! I got a new grammar book to study and it is awesome! I have all ready learned so much from it!

Sunday 12/28 – Great day! we had a great church and then we had lunch with a member! We had bone soup and it was sooooo delicious! Haha and we got yet another new investigator, that makes 4 four Christmas week! What a Christmas miracle that was!

Okay so one miracle that I wanted to share with you this week was when I was watching Ephraim’s rescue! I thought a lot about my ancestors and the movie really touched me in a different way then usual! I really loved one part of the movie when Ephraim is about to heal Thomas’s feet, Thomas’s mother asks Ephraim, “Are you a holy man?” He responds and says, “I have so many faults I cannot count them.” She then asks, “Then how is it that you do these miracles.” He raised his head and responded simply enough, “I Try.” Those two words hit me with such power. I realized in that moment that even through all my imperfections I can be great and reach the potential that God has in store. After all the atonement was made not as a back up plan for if we sin but as the plan of salvation for when we do sin! We all are imperfect but I know that if I simply wake up and truly try like the pioneers of old then I will be able to do amazing things! I loved these words! I know God lives and I know that if we simply try we will be able to succeed! I love you all so much and hope you had a merry Christmas and have a happy new year!

Love,

Elder Houston

Snowing

Snowing

12 Days of Christmas from Home -  An itsy bitsy Christmas tree at night

12 Days of Christmas from Home – An itsy bitsy Christmas tree at night

Outside our window

Outside our window

12 Days of Christmas - 8 Tide pens

12 Days of Christmas – 8 Tide pens

12 Days of Christmas - 4 Christmas Carols (and a few more too)

12 Days of Christmas – 4 Christmas Carols (and a few more too)

12 Days of Christmas - 4 Christmas Carols (and a few more too)

12 Days of Christmas – 4 Christmas Carols (and a few more too)

Korean Hymn Books

Korean Hymn Books

12 Days of Christmas from home - 6 piece nativity

12 Days of Christmas from home – 6 piece nativity

12 Days of Christmas from Home - 3 Decorations for my itsy bitsy tree.

12 Days of Christmas from Home – 3 Decorations for my itsy bitsy tree.

Elder Smith

Elder Smith

Joseph just like Grandpa Baldwin

Joseph just like Grandpa Baldwin

CTR rings from Elder Jarret

CTR rings from Elder Jarret

CTR rings from Elder Jarret

CTR rings from Elder Jarret

12 Days of Christmas - 7 Candy Canes

12 Days of Christmas – 7 Candy Canes

Elder Bandleys Bday

Elder Bandleys Bday

Super funny and cute picture! #Koreankids

Super funny and cute picture! #Koreankids

12 Days of Christmas from home - 9 Pieces of homemade fudge

12 Days of Christmas from home – 9 Pieces of homemade fudge

12 Days of Christmas - 10 CTR Rings

12 Days of Christmas – 10 CTR Rings

Cool Subway Station

Cool Subway Station

The South Gate

The South Gate

The South Gate

The South Gate

Dong de mun

Dong de mun

12 Days of Christmas from home - 12 Powdered donuts

12 Days of Christmas from home – 12 Powdered donuts

With Zone Leader

With Zone Leader

Elder Smith

Elder Smith

elder Jarret got his tie at the same time as me

elder Jarret got his tie at the same time as me

LPP (Language Progressive Program) Tie

LPP (Language Progressive Program) Tie

Yummy Christmas Ever Dinner!

Yummy Christmas Ever Dinner!

Outback Steakhouse for Christmas Dinner

Outback Steakhouse for Christmas Dinner

Korean Santa Statue

Korean Santa Statue

Outback Steakhouse for Christmas Dinner

Outback Steakhouse for Christmas Dinner

At a really nice buffet

At a really nice buffet

At a really nice buffet

At a really nice buffet

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

A little something to make dad jealous and the girls squirm

Leave a Reply

