Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Miracles and Blessings

2 Comments

Hey my lovely family and friends! I love you all so much and I am so happy to email you and hear from you this week! Every day I appreciate more my family and my friends who have influenced my life and appreciate all I had and have! I love you all! This week was amazing! I learned so much and saw some awesome miracles!

Tuesday 2/3 – The first miracle I saw came today! We were doing service when somebody called our phone. Elder Redd answered and they asked if he knew Elder Houston. He gave me the phone and I asked who it was! It was 에르카 (Eruca) Our Mongolian investigator that was progressing well but we lost contact with when his phone broke! He got a knew phone and I guess felt the prompting to call! I was so happy to hear from him! I talked to him for 15 minutes about how he was and he said he would come to church on Sunday. He didn’t come to church but I called him right after and we will meet him today at 3 because he was busy during church! It is way cool! Then I went on exchange with 이호현 장로님 (Elder Lee) and we did some proselyting (Street contacting) and met some really cool people!

Wednesday 2/4 – First I did some training! I got trained and then I did some training for our exchange! I always learn a lot when I get trained but learn even more when I train others! It was way good as always! We had zone training which I learned a lot from and got to see some of my really good friends like Elder Lundberg at Zone training! Elder Smith, Lundberg and I always have a great time together! I love them both a lot! That night Elder Redd and I gave the English class message! English class has been a little crazy cause some of the ladies there have been fighting but we have  been working really hard and our English class is improving!

Thursday 2/5 -We just did some proselyting today and then visited our less active but he wasn’t there so we left some rice cake for him.

Friday 2/6 – We did weekly planning and that night we passed out flyers for our English class at a university in our area.

Saturday 2/7– We had English class today and a kid came and wanted to learn piano and somebody was already teaching piano to somebody else so I taught him piano upstairs on a different piano! Haha so that was fun! Then we visited our less active’s restaurant! He was there and he let us in and made us some super yummy Ramen! He is an amazing man! He works form about 5 pm to about 5 am and prepares his restaurant from about 9 to 5 so he is exhausted and not healthy. We had another super good discussion. His heart opens more every time we visit him! We are hoping to get him to church soon! That night we got home and were quietly planning and the lady downstairs came up again. she comes up a lot to yell at us. We were literally sitting on chairs and planning being so quiet! And she came up and yelled at us for exercising and said we had to stop! We told her we weren’t and she just kept saying we were. She started yelling pretty bad and going crazy and getting scary. Unfortunately my companions emotions got the best of him for a moment and he yelled at her and slammed the door in her face when she was in mid sentence! It was an intense situation but she didn’t call the cops again and nothing happened but I did have to call Elder Smith our district leader and President and explain the situation again! It was crazy! But we haven’t heard form her since so that is good!

Sunday 2/8 – Today was awesome! We had church and Elder Bishop and Jarrett had a super good miracle Sunday and had 3 investigators there. They were all awesome! After Sacrament Elder Bishop asked me if I would teach an investigator with him! I said sure. We taught the plan of salvation and it was an awesome lesson! I really felt the gift of tongues in that lesson and was so happy and uplifted after. The kid also accepted a baptismal date! I am so excited for him! We talked with members and we have two American kids in our ward who were missionaries and now are doing a CIA program here and they study here at a good university for a year and the program sounds way way cool! I thought it was a sweet line of work! They are both way cool! The ward is awesome and we had a great time after! Then we ate dinner with the other Elders and did some street contacting! It was super super cold today. Possibly the coldest it  has been! It got about -15 degrees Celsius which is about 5 degrees Fahrenheit! Haha it was soooo soo cold! but it was a great day!

This week was super great and I am really happy and thankful for how much I have learned and continue to get to learn! I read a scripture the other day that I loved loved loved. It was Romans 5: 3-5 and it says, ”

3 And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience:

4 And Patience, experience; and experience, hope:

5 And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

I really loved this scripture! I know it is true and I am so grateful for all God has done for me! I love this gospel and I love this work! I love you all so much and I know God loves us all more than we can comprehend. He delights when we reach out in humble prayer to him and as we do that we will feel his love and answers! He has made beautiful plan in which Christ is centered. And through Jesus Christ and God’s plan we can return to live with God and our Families in perfect happiness forever! I love the gospel and I love you all! Have a great week!

Love,

Elder Houston

2 thoughts on “Miracles and Blessings

  1. Taylor has such a great positive attitude. He sounds like he is doing so great with the language.

    Like

    • Isn’t it a blessing to get to see these wonderful boys turn into such fantastic missionaries? I love reading Damon’s letters as well! He is doing incredible things! What amazing men they are becoming. I am just full of gratitude every Monday and cry over every little thing because of the joy I feel being a missionary mom! What a blessing it has been in my life!

      Like

Leave a Reply

