Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

First week in 원주 Wonju!

Leave a comment

Well I am now out of Seoul and into my new area! I love it here! It was a little hard to adjust and still is but it is also really fun! It has been a pretty crazy and full week so I am going to let you know as much as I can!

Tuesday, March 31 – I was still in Jangwii and I met for the last time our two most progressing investigators and said goodbye! I met 이종금 aka Jerry and 양오현 yang dohyun, and taught them both the gospel of Jesus Christ and just chatted and said goodbye to them! They are both super awesome and i hope the best for them! I will hopefully be able to call them and keep in contact with them throughout my mission and I hope they continue to progress! That night we had the last dinner as a district which was fun but also hard!

Wednesday, April 1 – We got up early and headed to transfers. At transfers I saw a bunch of people I knew and also said goodbye to a lot of people like Elder Smith and Elder Jarrett! Hopefully I will get to see them again before they go but I don’t really know. I met up with Elder Osborne and we took off to our new area. After an hour and a half we arrived and met Elder Grimshaw and Elder Yetter! They are both pretty cool guys! I like them both! Elder Grimshaw is a good kid and we get along fine! He is a little more laid back and reserved then my last companions but he is really cool! Elder Yetter likes B ball and we get along pretty cool. He is pretty stereotypical sports lover guy but we seem to get a long really well so far! So I like my district! They are all pretty fun! We live on the 18th floor of an apartment here in Wonju and have a pretty nice view! It is pretty cool!

Thursday, April 2 – Went and saw the area and the church! This area is huge! I may not be able to cover all the ground in my time serving here. It is really big! It is really cool too. The people in Wonju love exercise so much and are obsessed with health and basketball is actually really big. There are basketball courts all over and a professional basketball team’s arena is right across the road from where I live. The team actually just played in the Championship game of Korean basketball but lost. Supposedly they have 3 of the best players in the league and we have one of their numbers cause he is a potential investigator. So that is cool. There is a lot of walking here too! It is awesome!

Friday, April 3 – We did weekly planning today and we also met an investigator named 김철종 kim cheouljong.  He is doing pretty well! He is progressing and we will meet him again soon. He is about 50 and has an English academy and has been reading the Book of Mormon. That night we ate some yummy chicken that was fairly cheap. Korean chicken is super yummy!

Saturday, April 4 – We had english class today and I met the two sisters serving in our area named Sister Anderson and Udall. I also met all of our English class people and they were pretty fun! After Elder Grimshaw and I did a Family home evening type thing! He is the district leader so we were in charge and we taught the first presidency message and then I taught how to play “spot it” as best I could. We played “spot it” and it was a total hit and way fun! Haha we had a blast! I also started feeling more comfortable and fit in to this new place

Sunday, April 5 – I went to church today! We are in a branch here of about 25 to 30 people! They seem pretty cool actually! The members seem nice but our meeting is backwards. It is priesthood then sunday school then sacrament so that is weird! Also I play piano for priesthood here so that will be interesting. We taught a recent convert who is 20 and is soooo awesome! I really like him and I am excited to work with him! That night we did studies and I studied a talk by our beloved and blessed Prophet, Whom I sustain, Thomas S. Monson. It was his talk in November 2013 and it was the conference after his wife died and he gave an amazing and emotional talk called, “I will not Fail thee, Nor Forsake Thee.” That is one of my favorite talks of all time. I know his words are inspired and as I listen to that I am amazed at the inspiration of the true prophet of God. I stand as a witness of God and Jesus Christ who he sent but I also stand as a witness of his chosen Prophet Thomas S. Monson. I love him and sustain him. I would highly recommend this amazing talk by him. I loved it and I hope you will as well! I love you all! I know this work is hard and we are given trials and difficulties so we may progress and become stronger and better than we were before. I know that through any trials God is with us because he has promised, “I will not fail thee, Nor forsake thee.” (Joshua 1:5) I love you all and hope you have a great week! Can’t wait to talk to you next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

Elder Houston with his comp, Elder Grimshaw, and also Elder Yetter, & Elsder Osborne (1024x768)

Elder Houston with his comp, Elder Grimshaw, and also Elder Yetter, & Elder Osborne

Wonju at night (1024x768)

Wonju at night

Wonju from Taylor's apartment Window (1024x768)

Wonju from Taylor’s apartment Window

Wonju from Taylor's apartment Window 2 (1024x768)

Wonju from Taylor’s apartment Window

Wonju, South Korea (1024x768)

Wonju, South Korea

Leave a Reply

