Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

안녕하세요! Hello Everyone!

Leave a comment

View from the top of my apartment building (1024x768)Hey family and friends and all! You all seem great from the emails I received! I love hearing from everyone and getting all the great and encouraging email! I hope you all continue to be well and healthy and safe, I am just gonna jump right into the week!

Monday 4/13 – We went to Seoul and went to California pizza kitchen with my companions trainer and then went to a bath house and just chilled and then came back out to Wonju.

 Tuesday 4/14 – Today I went on exchange with Elder Yetter and we had a good time, we were out proselyting when a car pulled up next to us, it was a less active Elder Yetter had been looking for, he invited us in so we got in and he took us to his work place, turns out he was not in the best state and is a little on the side of crazy but we did our best with him and then left and continued our day, it was an interesting experience but also very fun as well!

Wednesday 4/15 – We had district meeting today which was different then usual because we didn’t have much of a training because we had a lot to discuss with Less Actives and with our branch and problems and how to help and provide assistants to the branch. I also got krispy kreme again because they give us a good deal on Wednesday! That night I had Elder Yetter cut my hair up again! It is pretty short now! 

Thursday 4/16 -We were about to do a street boarding activity but then a sudden storm came quick and it started raining a ton and the wind was pretty bad, we grabbed umbrellas and went out to go proselyting and maybe tract a little, as we were going the wind tried to take my umbrella away but I was stubborn and said no and held on tight, but the wind, unfortunately, was more stubborn, it bent the pole in half by my hand then the umbrella ripped and so I had no umbrella and it was pouring and pretty cold! Haha I got soaked so bad and had to run to the church, the wind was crazy strong and I took a couple of pics of my umbrella but they don’t do it justice! Haha it was pretty exciting! That night I ended up on splits with Elder Osborne and we went and talked to a less active at his Bar, his bar was actually sooo cool too! I mean it is the only bar I have ever been in but it was pretty cool, he was nice but super exhausted and we had a pretty good conversation. 

Friday 4/17 – We taught out investigator kim Cheoljong today and it was pretty fun, we helped him translate some stuff for his english academy because he doesn’t speak to well, so after that we actually didn’t have a lot of time so we just followed up on his reading, he has been reading the book of mormon well and even marking it! It was an amazing miracle to see him have read and marked the book of mormon! We were both super shocked and so so happy! Right after we had to hurry to a dinner appointment with a member in our ward, Her name is Lee Hyunjeon and she is super cool! Her husband is the first counselor in the branch as well, she made some really yummy food and she is learning English so the Elders corrected some homework and I practiced English with her. She is pretty good for being in her 50’s and only studying on her own never in a class! She served a mission in Busan so we talked about that and about my hometown and all kinds of stuff! She is a really nice lady! 

Saturday 4/18 -We had english class and family home evening today and they both went really good, they are super fun! We don’t have to wear suits anymore but the rain has made it cold so we usual wore suits or long sleeves but today was warm enough during the day that we went short sleeve, it started raining later though!

Sunday 4/19 – Church was really good, I am playing piano right now in priesthood which is difficult sometimes but it is fun too! Shout out to my mom for making me take piano lessons when sometimes I didn’t want to practice! Get my lil’ bros taking piano lessons soon!! It will bless them later I promise! After church we met with our branch president and talked about the branch and less actives and things, he is really stressed but he is a great guy and is doing really good! I really enjoy the Branch here!

This week was another great week. I learn so much everyday of my mission, although I have learned and grown so much, the more I learn and grow the more I realize how far I have to go, it is really funny and quite interesting how that works. I know that God is on our side, I know that he and is son Jesus Christ are there to help us and desire us to return and gain the best reward of Eternal life, the are our best friends, I know the ministering of angels is real, I know that angels minister to us to provide help, comfort, and relief. I am grateful for this gospel and for all of you! I love you all so much! I can’t wait to talk to you next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

Springtime in Wonju
Springtime in Wonju
Some of the District Elders

Some of the District Elders

Popcorn pops on the trees in Korea as well!

Popcorn pops on the trees in Korea as well!

Beautiful blossoms

Beautiful blossoms

Elder Yetter just woke up

Elder Yetter just woke up

Elder Houston with his broken umbrella

Elder Houston with his broken umbrella

Leave a Reply

