Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

More busy days of good stuff!

Leave a comment

This week we had another great week that was really busy and we did a lot of stuff and saw some super cool things happen! I won’t say much but I will just jump right into the email.

Tuesday, May 19 – We cleaned the church for service today! Elder Ashby and I cleaned windows, it is surprising on my mission how I have found how much I enjoy cleaning and cooking! Haha I really have enjoyed those things! That night we met with a referral we got from a member on monday named Ho Jaewon, he is the second member referral I have got! We were soooo excited. We at dinner with him and then took him to english class, he really enjoyed it I think. He is really socially awkward and suffers from depression a little but is doing good. 

Wednesday, May 20 – My companion gave his first district meeting today and it went pretty good! We discussed a lot of good stuff about the branch and area! Later that day we met with a guy but he was super busy but wanted to meet later so we will!

Thursday, May 21 – We had music practice today because we sang on sunday. We practiced and sang Brightly Beams our Fathers Mercy. After we practiced we visited with Kim CheoulJong our investigator and had an okay lesson. We built a better relationship and despite the extreme difficulty to understand his korean and speak so he understands we came to an understanding after a while. We also got to see some super cute kitties that made us laugh pretty hard! That night we also met with Ho Jaewon again and we had a really good lesson with him! we taught the whole first lesson. He comes from a Buddhists background so he was pretty overwhelmed I think but I thought it went pretty good! We ended good and were happy but he has seemed a little off since, we haven’t been able to meet since but hopefully later in the week this week we can meet with him again!

Friday, May 22 – We did weekly planning which was good as always, made some solid plans for our investigators! After we met again with Kim CheoulJong our investigator but it was very frustrating, We taught the plan of salvation but he argued a lot about science and random, random stuff that was weird and we could not understand him at all. It was super difficult to speak to him because we was so random and Korean is still just so hard.  I am nowhere near fluent and can barely even hold a conversation despite studying so hard. Korean is really frustrating and after lessons like that I get a real opportunity to learn patience because I want to punch a wall sometimes. (by the way I actually have punched a wall a few times) #stillllearningpatience Haha but anyways it is really hard!  (I thought before my mission I would be so much further along in the language than I am!) but we ended on an okay note with a little understanding and we will meet with him again soon! That night we tried to go find a less active far away in a pretty part of the outer parts of Wonju, but we couldn’t find his house, but it was a beautiful walk and we saw an awesome sunset. The sunsets here are amazing!

Saturday, May 23 -Today we ate lunch with members at the church and then did singing practice which was really good and we needed it. My companion and I sang tenor and it was pretty fun! After singing we had English class which was really fun and Elder Ashby and I gave the message! We had some hard words to use too. We talked about muscles and protein and how that relates to our spirit and spiritual recovery. It was super super hard in korean but we got through with help of some of the advanced English speakers! Haha!  After that, we finished cleaning the church with the members for branch conference on sunday! We cleaned and cleaned and I got to talk to our branch president a lot more and it was tough but I felt like I was able to talk with him for a little while and build a better relationship with him so it was really good!

Sunday, May 24 – We had our branch conference so President Christensen came a spoke and it was great! I understood most of his talk in Korean which was a first so that was fun. We had a good conference and after church we had a super tasty lunch that the ward prepared! It was delicious! And I got to talk to Brother Park who is 23 and is one of my best korean friends. We talked and joked a lot! He is a great guy and fluent at English! He goes off to mandatory military service next week for 2 years though so I am bummed about that! My companion also got called as second counselor. That night we met with an investigator. He was an old guy and pretty usual meeting. He was way drunk and told us he talked to God and he wants to stop drinking and we said we could help, he was super depressed and kept saying scary stuff and we did the best we could and we will meet with him again tonight after p-day! So hopefully he isn’t drunk cause we told him to not drink or smoke for a day and he said he would try. That was it for that day. We went back and studied and made calls.

This week has been a good one. We have seen a lot of cool things happen and I have learned a lot as always. I learn more and more to be humble, if I am not yet, well I am going to get humbled!   Ha! I have learned a lot about attitude as well…it can change everything. It is just a matter of learning to control our attitude in the most difficult of times. I know Heavenly Father tries our Faith and Patience so that we might grow! I Love you all and can’t wait to talk next week! 

Love,

Elder Houston

Elder Ashby and I

Elder Ashby and I

Elder Ashby and I

Elder Ashby and I

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Sunset

Hike with district and our friend Brian from English class

Hike with district and our friend Brian from English class

The District

The District

Forest/Jungle of Korea

Forest/Jungle of Korea

Elder Ashby and Elder Houston

Elder Ashby and Elder Houston

Trail Sign

Trail Sign

Steep Trail

Steep Trail

Ascending up the trail

Ascending up the trail

At the top

At the top

At the top

At the top

Green, Green, Green and beautiful!

Green, Green, Green and beautiful!

Statues

Statues

Statues

Statues

Acacia Flowers

Acacia Flowers

Cool Bug!  They are all over Wonju!

Cool Bug! They are all over Wonju!

Cute

Cute

Kittens

Kittens

Green

Green

One Last Sunset

One Last Sunset

Leave a Reply

