Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Beautiful Korea. 홀로 아리랑

Leave a comment

Okay there is so much to do and so little time! Haha I am not gonna say much just jump into the week cause I need this letter to be a wee bit shorter! Okay! Okay Okay! yay!

Monday 5/25 – What a treat today was! We had Brian our English class guy take us up as a district to an awesome little place in the mountains and we had a picnic by a stream with some super good food! I was just like my two lil bros running around from place to place and I was like a giddy lil 5-year-old! I was exploring and found 3 snakes! I took a quick pic and didn’t get bit but I really wanted to catch them but they were super bright-colored so I resisted! Then we went to a buddhist’s temple and it was so pretty and super cool and the hike was awesome and I love photography and yeah! Okay next day!

Tuesday 5/26 – We spent all day with a member named Park wiChang! I haven’t said much about him I don’t think but he is one of my best friends here in Korea! I love him so much! He came about a month ago from BYU Provo and he is just so awesome! He came and did missionary work with us all day! He is 23 and we get along super well! He has been such an amazing kid! He has had us over to his house a lot for food and I love his Father and Mother too! I feel a part of their family! I have grown so close to him and his family! I talk to him daily and see him usually daily to for him to teach with us or for dinner or something! He is awesome! 

Wednesday, 3/27 – We street boarded and Brother Park was there with us again! We got a way cool new investigator! His English name is Anderson.

Thursday 3/28 – We met our investigator named Ho Jaewon today and had a really good lesson with him and committed him to baptism on the 19th of June. He accepted and accepted to come to church but had to study for a test so didn’t come but we will meet him again soon!  Then we got on a bus to Seoul and met a Less active in the temple area because Elder Ashby served there before here. Then after we ate with him we went to the temple and it was absolutely amazing! We stayed at the temple with our zone and the other Kongwondo zone! It was a lot of fun!

Friday 3/29 – We had a combined conference with the Seoul South mission! I saw all the people from the MTC and I also saw Sister Gooch from St. George! I accidentally left my camera upstairs but she took a picture on her camera so you will have to find it I think! Haha but it was cool to see everyone! I also got to see Elder Smith one last time before he goes home! I was so happy and gave him a big hug and we talked for a while! I am excited to be able to email him soon though! That will be super cool! It was a cool conference and Elder Maines was the speaker! It was so fun to see Elder Jarrett and Reid who are now companions! So that is awesome! I loved seeing all the awesome people at conference!

Saturday 3/30 – We came home Friday night and left Saturday after studies to go to Kangnung for a fireside to say goodbye to our mission president! We had to practice singing too! We sang a song called the Arirang. it is probably the most famous traditional Korean song and I looooooooooove it! It was fun to be there! 

Sunday 3/31 – We had church and we as missionaries had to watch the kids today….. Wow, I love my little family and their well-behaved kids cause holy smokes. I was about to lose my mind with some of those kids! Haha! That night we went to Brother park’s house and said goodbye. He leaves today for military so it was the last time I will see him for a long time! I was really sad but his mom and family and dad are awesome and I love them! 

This week was awesome! I love the gospel! The work is hard! But hey! I like it that way! I am so grateful for all of your emails to me, for this beautiful world and life I live! I think it is pretty funny that Emily smashed cake in my dads face too! I was actually talking about Justin and Emily’s family this week with my companion when we were talking about family! Haha so I showed him that and he thought it was pretty funny too! Ha but Emily should watch out because my Dad might get revenge….. also happy Birthday to Grandma Houston and my Dad!  I love you all so much and I am so grateful for your impact in my life. This work is hard but I am able to do it because I know with all my heart how much it has blessed my family and how much happiness it has brought to me and I know it can and will help others who are willing and ready to accept it!  That is why I am doing this and I am so happy to be doing it! I know Heavenly Father loves each and every one of you and your families! I know this gospel is true! I can’t wait to talk to you next week! Love you all!

Love,

Elder Houston

At a Buddhist Temple

At a Buddhist Temple

A Cool Bug for my little brothers

A Cool Bug for my little brothers

Cool Jungle Frog

Cool Jungle Frog

Saying goodbye to Brother Parks

Saying goodbye to Brother Parks

Saying goodbye to Brother Parks

Saying goodbye to Brother Parks

Leave a Reply

