Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Hot and Humid

Leave a comment

I don’t know if you have been checking the weather much in Korea but if you were to check you would find that it is very hot and very humid! I have found out I sweat a lot! Haha I always get sweat in my eyes and my upper lip sweats a lot as well! Hahah it is pretty fun but it feels like a sauna every time you go outside and we don’t have any air conditioning so the house isn’t much cooler! Haha it is really fun though! This week we were a little busier which was good! I will take you through all the days again!

Tuesday 7/21 – We proselyted for a while today and had a lesson with a new investigator who is 20 years old and it did not go well. It was not the investigator either it was us. We didn’t work together and there was a contentious spirit and a contentious spirit is from the devil so the spirit could not be there too! It was very difficult and frustrating, especially after the lesson! But that is what the atonement is for, our shortcomings and mistakes. I feel so bad and guilty but through Christ and his atonement have been able to overcome and move on in the way he would have me go! That night we had English class and we shared the message which went pretty good I think!

Wednesday 7/22 – We had district meeting today and talked a lot about our branch and how we can better help them! We discussed a lot about the members and the relationships in the ward! After we proselyted out to an area we really like cause it is super forest/jungle like and it is just beautiful! We saw a bunch of cool bugs! We enjoy it out there! After we came back and ate at a bakery for my companions year mark in country! It was pretty tasty!

Thursday 7/23 – We proselyted a lot today and then we visited some members as well!

Friday 7/24 -We did weekly planning today which was good and we planned for a lot of stuff! After that, while we were on the street, a sister called and said to hurry to the church! Turns out they had met an american guy who was in the military in Wonju and he was a member! He didn’t know there was a church there and so he had not been able to go to church for about a year an a half! His name is Joseph Slowsser and he is super cool! We talked to him for a while and he was really excited to see us! After we talked for a while Elder Ashby and I went to meet with Seo Hyunseok who is a recent convert and have dinner with him! It went super good and we got a lot closer to him than we were even expecting! He is 19 and such a sweetheart! I love him to death!

Saturday 7/25 – Today we got to go help a member in the morning and got some yummy food from her too! Then we went and taught a kid English and after had to run a few miles to the bus station and it was soooo hot! Haha we were sweating a lot but got there and headed to Gangneung for a music night! Joseph came with us too and he really enjoyed it! He is 6’5″ and a really big guy and it was fun to see him on the bus! He has been here for about a year and goes home to his family in 3 months! He is from Boise Idaho and is 32 years old! He is a really nice guy! The music night was great! There was singing and violins and it was a lot of fun!

Sunday 7/26 – Church was great and Joseph came for his first time in a year and a half and was just thrilled to be there! I had to translate sacrament meeting when our district presidency gave talks so it was so stinking hard but I did my best for him! I translated for him all day when members wanted to talk to him and it was really hard! It was good for me though! That night we had a dinner appointment with Sister Park and it was great and Seo Hyunseok came again to the dinner and it was super good! We had some delicious meat and we really needed to build a relationship with sister Park and we did! It was great!

I am so grateful for the gospel in my life! It means so much to me! I have felt God’s love and grace more in my life than ever before! I know that Jesus, the historical man who came out of the unlikely town of Nazareth is the Christ, son of God. I know he truly did atone for us and if we simply follow his teachings and his example we can gain salvation and return to live with our father in Heaven! I know our Father in heaven loves us all and I am grateful for that knowledge! I know this gospel is true! Have a great week and I can’t wait to talk next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

Dinner appointment with Sister Parks and Seo Hyunseok

Dinner appointment with Sister Parks and Seo Hyunseok

my fun little bug friend was hot too

my fun little bug friend was hot too

Small tunnel, Hot day

Small tunnel, Hot day

Small tunnel, Hot day

Small tunnel, Hot day

Small tunnel, Hot day

Small tunnel, Hot day

This tree was cool

This tree was cool

Leave a Reply

