Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Well…I have some news!

Leave a comment

Well this week was pretty awesome and I have some news! I am getting transferred out of Wonju! I will be going back to Seoul! I will go the very heart and center of Seoul to an area called 신당 sindang (SHEEN-DANG)!  It is where president lives and the office is! It is the headquarters for a lot of church stuff and mission stuff! I am really sad about leaving Wonju but I am excited for Sindang! I have heard great things about the area! I am also really nervous to see what happens! I do not know my companion or my assignment in the area yet so I will find that out on Wednesday!

Because I am being transferred I have already sent a lot of my stuff away so I don’t have my usual stuff to remind my of the week! I usually write it all down on a paper to remind me but I didn’t have time this week so I will talk a little about what I remember!

Tuesday – Can’t remember much, we did street boarding and had a lot of success! And we had English which Joseph came to and helped with! He is awesome!

Wednesday – District meeting went great! Our awesome Zone Leaders and my good friends Elder Dixon, and Elder Ney came and attended! It was pretty great! After we did street boarding and that night may have been the highlight of my week! All our week! We really did meet an angel and tender mercy and miracle named Joseph Schlosser! He invited us over for real American hamburgers, bacon, cake, and loaded us with cereal and candy and peanut butter! He is amazing! It tasted sooo good and we were in a little heaven! He is an amazing person and has touched each of our lives here in Wonju!

Joseph aka Brother Schlosser gave us some great food! I was so happy!

Joseph aka Brother Schlosser gave us some great food! I was so happy!

Joseph aka Brother Schlosser gave us some great food! I was so happy!

Joseph aka Brother Schlosser gave us some great food! I was so happy!

Joseph and American Burgers!

Joseph and American Burgers!

Joseph and American Burgers!

Joseph and American Burgers!

Joseph and American Burgers!

Joseph and American Burgers!

Thursday – Not much I can remember! I was on exchange with Elder Buckwalter and we proselyted all day!

Friday – We had weekly planning as usual and tried to visit a few members! We also met an investigator and taught him English! He is a little cutie and it is going pretty solid with him! His mom actually took a Book of Mormon as well!

Saturday -I went on another exchange today and I went with Elder Law! We proselyted all day and met a monk guy that was just not a fun guy! He said some super weird stuff about prostitution and just really gave us sad feelings! So we got out of there quick and went and bought some watermelon milk which is one of my favorite drinks here! Haha We had English and game night that night which was fun!

Sunday – Today was good but hard! I had to say goodbye to all the members! I gave a talk as well along with Sister Seo Juun and Elder Ashby bore his testimony as well! Sister Seo Juun is awesome! She is finishing her mission and will return to Busan! I call her 누나 which means older sister but has a different connotation in Korean! It is more serious and you call people your brother and sister all the time if you are close! She has helped us out a lot and been a great example! It is funny cause she is the old sister but she is tiny! Haha but me and Elder Ashby listen to her and do what she says! haha She gave a great talk! I took pictures with a lot of members and said bye! That night Joseph invited us to his house again because I was leaving.  We were going to have pancakes but instead he had some left over burgers and hot dogs so we ate those with some chips! It was so awesome! I had a really good talk with him after church and we talked a lot!  He reminds me of my Dad in some ways so it was really nice to talk to him! It was a great day!

Well this week was great! I am so grateful to have served in wonderful Wonju! I love it here and I have so many great memories and friends! I will miss it dearly but I am excited to go where my Lord would have me go! I know that Heavenly Father lives, he loves us and is there for us! He answers our prayers and pushes us to be better so we can one day return to him and become like him! I know Jesus Christ is my savior and redeemer! He lived and died and rose again that you and I may do the same! I know the gospel is true and through the atonement we can overcome anything that is not of God! I love you all and am so happy to hear from you! Have a great week and I am excited to talk next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

Leave a Reply

