Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

A Whole New World!

Leave a comment

I know I have been here for a week or so now but I am still adjusting! It is like a new world! There is so many people it is crazy! Haha the culture is thick too so there are a lot of things that are just different! I love this new area but it is like a new world so it is still an adjustment but a good one! I have had a pretty great week with my year mark and my birthday! The b-day package was awesome!

Tuesday 8/11 – I was on exchange with Elder Grover today! Yes Elder Grover from the MTC! Me, him, and Elder Weiss are all here from the same group in the MTC.  Elder Weiss and I live together but Elder Grover is companions with the District leader so we went on exchange! It was soooo much fun! We saw so many miracles! Everyone we talked too was prepared, we got so many numbers and it was one of the most successful days on my mission! It was crazy! We were both amazed and happy! We also did a service project by going and hanging out with old people at a retirement center which I loved!

Wednesday 8/12 – We had a zone Conference today! We met at the office which is in our area, and we had a conference so President Sonksen spoke for a while then our zone leaders spoke and then President Sonksen again! It was great! We talked a lot about to have the Faith to Baptize! President is really pushing that because of the discouragement that we face a lot of the time! I am really excited to exersize more faith to baptize! After we had a dinner appointment with the Turner family! They also work on base here! They are so awesome and we had a lot of fun and had some delicious cafe rio quesadillas with cafe rio sauce!  Wow it was so good! Haha it was a great night!

Thursday 8/13 – Today was my year mark aka Hump Day! For hump day we proselyted all day! It was awesome! I also did a lot of self reflection and set some goals and had a great day of pondering on my work thus far and my work in the future! It was a little tough because I want to be a great servant of the Lord but I am so imperfect and so it was very humbling to reflect and realize what I need to improve and lean on Heavenly Father for support! 

Friday 8/14 – We did weekly planning today and tried to meet an investigator but just met his wife. They are Chinese and super nice! We will try to meet him soon!

Saturday 8/15 -Today was a special day! It was….. Korea’s National Independence day! Whaooo!! Oh.. and… it was also my birthday too.  I got a great package from my family and loved it so much! It had yummy food and cute ideas and things for my hump day and p day and it was just perfect! I loved the pictures and notes too! It made me so happy! That day we meet with an investigator and his girlfriend for the first time. He had read a few pages from the book of Mormon and it was a pretty okay meeting! It was are first but we taught them both! We also taught English class and then that night we had a dinner with the Ferrins, a family on base.  It was pretty stressful actually but I won’t go into to much detail! It was fun!  We ate at a famous Indian restaurant and it was really good! We had some yummy food and a great night! 

 Sunday 8/16 – Church was great and we had a fun time as always. We proselyted today and it went pretty  good and we had a goal to meet so that night we diligently made calls and called through the area book and found a lot of cool people and got our goal and the Lord blessed us to make a few appointments! It was great!

This week was great! I had a lot of time to reflect and think and it was really good! I truly do have a testimony of this gospel. Although I am imperfect and super weak and I know I can overcome because of Jesus Christ. He walked the path and he descended below it all.  He accomplished the atonement. He knows, the perfect son, who never spoke ill, never did any wrong, had to know how the rest of us feel in order to save us, so he walked the lonely path so that we don’t have too! I know through him we can overcome all feelings of selfishness, pride, and temptation. I have felt the strength beyond my own! I know he makes weak things become strong! I know that knowing Christ is knowing Heavenly Father they have the same purpose, to bring to pass our immortality and Eternal life. I know when times are hard, things are rough, we are in the pit of despair and grief that there are good things to come because of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I have seen it, I have felt it, I stand as a witness of the truthfulness of this gospel! So when you are down, “Don’t you quit, don’t you give up, there is help and happiness ahead!” I love you all and I am so grateful for your influences in my life! Have a great week and I can’t wait to talk next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

39 Floors in my apartment building

39 Floors in my apartment building

B-Day Fun

B-Day Fun

Hump Day

Hump Day

Hump Day

Hump Day

New Apartment

New Apartment

New Apartment

New Apartment

New Apartment

New Apartment

Seoul Tower

Seoul Tower

Leave a Reply

