Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Miracles Come After the Trial of Our Faith!

Leave a comment

Well family! This last week was quite interesting but ended so amazing! I am so happy! I am really jealous you have all got to listen to conference and also got to listen to our wonderful Prophets and apostles! I am so excited to get to listen to that next week! It was also great to here that you all went to the ranch and had a great time! I miss the ranch! I love that place so enjoy it for me! I am glad you are all good! I have been really busy lately so I haven’t had time to really think about what I will email so this email might be a little random!

Okay first thing I want to talk about is a few new investigators! We have seen so many miracles and been working hard, this week we got 5 new investigators and one has a Baptismal date! I don’t know why but our area is just being so unreal successful lately when it really struggled before we got here! But we got a guy who is Korean but Muslim and he is super cool and nice and it went good, a guy who we are teaching English and the gospel and he is really nice as well! And we met a kid on the street and had an awesome lesson and will meet him again on Friday and also a guy we called and met with who is 20 and sooo nice! He is a stud and accepted the Book of Mormon and we will meet him again soon! Then lastly we got a referral from the dongdaemun Elders and we met him! And he is awesome! We taught the 3rd discussion and gave him a baptismal date. He came to church yesterday as well, but he left today to go to North Korea because after the big conflict a few weeks ago they worked out an agreement to let families reunite for a few weeks and have south Koreans go to the north to reunite with their loved ones. He is not going for family but to cook for all the family reunions because he is a really good cook! He will be gone for 3 weeks so his baptismal date is November 21 and he is really prepared and said he will call right when he gets back! So we are excited for him!

Okay the next thing I want to talk about really quick is…. for service we went up on a mountain with our wonderful old people who I love! The guy that I walked around with is a little pervy so he kept doing hilarious things but super awkward, but he is a little cutie! Because he is old so he does whatever he wants, (culture thing) but it is so cute and it was so much fun! I love our service projects! Anyways. 

The last thing I want to talk about is Rak Won Lee! Tuesday we had temple day, I love temple day, the peace it brings to my soul is amazing! I loved it so much and then right after we met Rak Won Lee our investigator at sinchon subway station and took him to see the temple. He was happy and asked when he could go inside and felt peace! He is such a stud! I love him so much and he is one of my dearest friends!

Because of this I had quite a scare this Sunday. We weren’t able to meet with Rak won lee since tuesday but he said he would come to church but it was weird that we couldn’t meet with him! So we got to church and waited and he never came, our other investigator came but he didn’t and I called and called but he wouldn’t answer, all day he didn’t answer. I was so sad, it was a rerun of Jangwii when nam song ju was such good friends with us and then just stopped answering and ignored us for no reason. I was devastated and pleaded with the Lord all day to somehow give us a miracle.  I tried calling him on the sisters phone and his mom answered and said he wasn’t there. I was so sad. I couldn’t believe it! My companion said he was gone and had betrayed us but I didn’t think so. I really wanted to have faith and I did! I prayed and pleaded with the Lord, and told him I couldn’t do anything more. I needed a miracle in order to help this wonderful Son of God come into the true fold of God. That night, I once again prayed and then called him one last time before planning. It rang, and rang, and rang, and he didn’t answer. I was devastated nearly to tears. I just prayed again, and said one more pleading prayer and during my prayer, the phone buzzed.  I quickly snatched it up and looked and after almost 48 hours of him seemingly ignoring us, Rak Won Lee was calling us. I answered and said hello! And he responded and said Hey Houston! And I said hey are you okay? and he said yes I am so sorry! He explained he had gone out to the countryside with his friends and they ended up staying overnight and he didn’t have his phone and wanted to call us so bad! He apologized several times and I explained how sad I was because I thought he just disappeared because he heard bad things about our church and he was my good friend! He was like, “Hey don’t worry! I am okay! I am sorry you worried!” Haha and after that he promised to buy us any food we want on Thursday when we meet! I talked to him for 10 minutes and the other Elders said it looked more like I was talking to Courtney on the phone then Rak Won Lee! Haha, they were all in my room giggling cause I was like a giddy little kid! haha but anyways it was such a miracle! I could not stop smiling! Then my companion just said wow you are such a missionary! Haha, that was funny but it made me happy too! Anyways it was a huge miracle and after everyone left our room I knelt and thanked Heavenly Father with all my heart! It was such a miracle! I am so grateful to a loving Heavenly Father who gives us miracles when we can do nothing more! I am grateful for Rak Won Lee! We are going to have to move his Baptismal date back at least a week. So probably Oct. 24! But we will decide that all on Thursday!  He is the salt of the earth! I love the people of Korea! Miracles really do happen after trials!

Wow I said a lot! 

 I love this mission, I love Korea, and I know this gospel is true! I know that God lives and loves us.  A witness and sometimes a huge miracle comes after the trial of our faith! I know that this gospel changes lives, and I am so grateful for the opportunity to serve the Lord Jesus Christ and preach his gospel! I know that He leads this church, He lives, and He watches over all of his children! I know this gospel is true! I love you all so much and am excited to talk to you next week! Have a great week!

Love,

Elder Houston

after english class

after english class

exchange life

exchange life

my companion haha

my companion haha

My friend

My friend

Rak Won Lee at the temple

Rak Won Lee at the temple

Luhan and Fisher

Luhan and Fisher

The mountain we did service at

The mountain we did service at

the view

the view

view

view

Leave a Reply

