Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Week of Random Fun!

Leave a comment

This week was just what my subject line says, kind of random things but a lot of fun! I really liked it! I had some cool and unique experiences that I am happy to have had! It sounds like back home has been kind of a rough past few days for everybody, deer hunt not super exciting even though that is my 2nd favorite time of year besides Christmas and other things! But I love you all back home, I am praying for you and just hope you all know I do love you!

Well for this week I wanted to tell you about a few dinners we had! One with the Peregoy family and one with the Raymer family! they were both great! The families in the army are really strong in the gospel, it is really impressive! We had a good time with both families, and Sis Raymer is deaf so that was a cool experience! I know a few words in Korean sign language and she is learning and way better then me so I got to say a few things, like Hi, nice to meet you, thank you. The basics! It was really fun though! They are both awesome families!

The next thing I wanted to talk about it Rak Won Lee! We got to meet him once this week and it went good! He is doing good and wanted to meet Saturday but couldn’t because his uncle was in critical condition in the hospital so he couldn’t come to church either! I will call him tonight and see how he is doing! He is so close! Please pray for him!

One of the fun random things that was awesome this week is Elder Fisher and I got to go to 김장 kimjang or kimchi making! We went with a bunch of other foreign missionaries and it was a lot of fun! We made kimchi and got dirty and smelly and the old ladies fed us kimchi and they took pictures and we got interviewed by a news station and we introduced our church! Hahah it was so awesome! After we ate some super good hamburgers and proselyted home! It was such a fun day and kind of exchange!

The last thing is yesterday (Sunday) we had a fireside with a really smart guy who is the head of the Korean department at BYU and he has a PhD in Korean studies and served here and he told us about different religions and how to relate them to the gospel! Including Christianity, Confucianism, Buddhism, and Shamanism, aka the main four influences in Korea! It was pretty legit! I learned a ton and had a lot of fun!

Well as you can see this week was pretty random but really fun! I had a great week! I learned a lot as always, I learned how much happier living the gospel standards is. I learn that every week but it is constantly refreshed! Even if we struggle and fall, and stumble, it is way better to just live the gospel standards as exact as we can. If we slip, don’t give up, if we fail, don’t get discourage, rely on Christ and move on. Keep working, keep striving, keep loving, and keep hoping. The hope of the gospel radiates in my life and it is easy to take for granted until you see other people who don’t have that and then I realize how important and amazing it is! I love this gospel and I know it is true! I love you all and will talk to you next week!

Love,

Elder Houston

Goofy Boy 2 (1024x768) Goofy Boy 3 (1024x768) Goofy Boy 4 (1024x768) Goofy Boy 5 (1024x768)

Kimjang or kimchi making

Kimjang or kimchi making

Kimjang or kimchi making

Kimjang or kimchi making

Making Kimchi

Making Kimchi

Making Kimchi

Making Kimchi

Zone

Zone

Leave a Reply

