Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Well Hello Family and Friends!

Leave a comment

Well Hello Family and Friends! This week was another beautiful week in Korea full of blessings and miracles! It is just amazing the blessings and miracles we see on missions! What an honor it is to be on the front line of God’s army in such a perilous and treacherous time of the world! I love being a missionary! Let me tell you a little bit about my week!

Elder Lewis and I gave the message on Tuesday for English! I was nervous because I felt a lot more pressure in doing it! Buuut, it actually went fantastic! It was a lot of fun and very spiritual! We had a good time, and man was the gift of tongues present! Ever since I started training the gift of tongues just came through and hit me so fully! I guess I was made humble enough and reliant on the Lord enough to receive the blessing more fully!

This week investigator wise has been good! We first met with HanSang this week. We met and it was okay, but very frustrating. We teach him English and then the gospel and he is progressing but last time he was being very rude, he kept ignoring our gospel message and asking again about English! I almost got really mad. We teach free English which is crazy expensive here and all we ask is for 30 minutes to teach the gospel and fulfill our purpose and he was not giving that. Well I kept finding opportunities to turn to the gospel and after a lot of patience we had a decent lesson. But he didn’t ask any questions at all. Elder Lewis did a good job being brave in Korean! But then he asked Elder Jung the Korean Elder in our house a bunch of religious questions that he had that he didn’t ask us. I don’t know why he didn’t, maybe he thinks we can’t understand but it was a little frustrating for me cause he is a nice guy and does have potential to be changed through Christ’s atonement and have a happier life! Anyways… a huge miracle we saw this week is Rak Won Lee, the investigator of many miracles! I talked to him on the phone a few times during the week but then couldn’t get a hold of him at the end of the week. Well I had a great experience when I prayed and pleaded with Heavenly Father during church a little before Sacrament started to please help him to somehow get to church. I told him I have done all I can. Please.. and my prayer, was answered. God lives, he knows us and our hearts, and he does answer prayers after we have “done what we can.” Right as I said amen my phone buzzed in my pocket. I pulled it out and saw a text from Rak Won Lee who had seemingly again disappeared which said, “I am just getting on the subway I will be there in just a minute!” I accidentally made a funny noise and did a sitting happy dance in the middle of gospel principles class and almost cried! What a miracle! I quickly excused myself to the bathroom, (my new favorite place to commune with God) and thanked Heavenly Father for making up for my weaknesses, what I could not do! Soon I saw Rak Won Lee and he ran up the steps and told me how busy he has been and how he has missed me! I introduced him to Elder Lewis and he came in to sacrament and partook of the spirit there!  After he told Elder Fisher he is getting baptized soon and they planned to meet next Saturday for his interview! What a blessing and a powerful witness to me, that God is in control, without him I truly can do nothing! 

This week we also met with a member I called to practice teaching! He is so kind and was willing to help Elder Lewis practice! So we worked through the restoration! Elder Lewis is willing to work hard to improve and I love that about him, the two of us are pretty similar in a lot of ways! He practiced a lot and after we were done with the member we visited Javier to say goodbye because he is going to a new base in America! It was sad to say bye to him but I am so happy he will have a family of church members awaiting him in America! 

This week was great! My testimony has grown a ton as always! I have recently been pondering on the house of Israel and the promised Covenants to Abraham Isaac and Jacob(Israel). As I have pondered about that it just hit me how complete our gospel is. The Bible and it’s precepts are indeed essential to life and salvation but equally essential are the precepts that are found with the Book of Mormon. It completes everything including the prophecies of the gathering of Israel which I as a missionary am currently doing! The house of Israel has once again been established and is truly rolling forth on the earth! This work is the work of God, gentiles and Jews both are to be adopted back into the house of Israel or back into the covenant! God does deal with his people in these modern times just as he has in the past! I know how essential Jesus Christ is in order for us to be able to make it back to Heavenly Father! I truly know Jesus Christ is the savior, I know God lives and loves us and answers prayers! I know this gospel is true!

Love,

Elder Houston 

Service - Clean up duty

Service – Clean up duty

Clean up duty

Clean up duty

Clean up duty

Clean up duty

Green dinner for the "greenie" with Peregoy Family

Green dinner for the “greenie” with Peregoy Family

Javier

Javier

Magleby Family

Magleby Family

Magleyby Family

Magleyby Family

Selfie

Selfie

Pig intestine soup

Pig intestine soup

Rak Won Lee

Rak Won Lee

Leave a Reply

