Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Happy New Year

1 Comment

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a very Merry Christmas, I know I did! This week was a great week of miracles and of tender mercies from God! I am so happy to be serving the Lord at this time! I was so happy to Skype my family and to hear from everyone today! I am going to jump right into my letter!

This week we got to meet with Doug our investigator and he is doing great! He took us out to eat and we met at his house and talked to him for a while! It was so great! He is a great guy and has a great heart! On Wednesday we had our Christmas conference and met at Presidents house and had a really good training and then a fun dinner! It was really fun!

On Christmas eve we ate at the Peregoy’s house and then we had Wangzhen’s baptismal interview and taught him and it went great! After meeting with him we went and met with the Murphy family and they were awesome as well! Both families gave us stockings of Christmas food! It was a Merry Christmas eve for us!

Then Christmas came and it was a great day of miracles! We had a Christmas party which kept us busy! We actually had two! We helped with the deaf branch party and then after that we prepared for Wangzhen’s baptism! Wangzhen,  a deaf investigator, and a member who turned 8 all got baptized! Wow what a Christmas present! We had a big turn out and Wangzhen bore a beautiful testimony of coming closer to God! It was a great baptism! Very stressful and so busy to try to make everything work but it all worked and it went great! Elder Lewis was able to baptize Wangzhen and it was really a great experience for everyone! Another huge miracle we saw was that morning I got a text from Rak Won Lee and he wanted to meet! He came to the baptism and everyone was thrilled to see him. He talked to the Bishop and missionaries and members and talked a lot about baptism. He is there, he will get baptized, it is just a matter of when! He had a great time and has a true desire to be baptized! He is a great guy and I was so happy to see him! After the baptism we had a Ward party! It was a lot of fun! We had a good turn out of less actives,  investigators, recent converts, and lots of members! It was a fun night and to end it, we did the nativity again! I was Joseph again! hahah It was a lot of fun!

Then on the 26th I went over to the Peregoys and skyped my family! It was so much fun! I loved it! It was easier than the calls and I liked it a lot better! I was so happy to see everyone! We talked and had a great time! And hanging up is always hard, but it wasn’t too bad because I hung up after the skype time was up and said bye to my family and then chatted with my family here in Korea, The Peregoys! She made us some delicious pumpkin chocolate chip muffins and we ate and talked to them for a while after! It was so great, it was just like home! I love the Peregoys and I am so grateful for them! Then of coarse we had a busy but fun Sunday! Elder Fisher also left so now Elder Jung is our companion for a little while until he gets his visa! So we are in a threesome! It is pretty fun!

Well that about sums up the amazing week! I know with all my heart that God lives, Jesus is the Christ and Heavenly Father hears and answers our prayers and showers us with tender mercies and blessings! I am grateful for the opportunity I have of serving here in Korea and serving the wonderful Korean people! I love this gospel I know that it is true! I especially know the reality of the atonement of Jesus Christ, it can truly lift us past all heartache, push us past any pain, can lift us higher, and make us more. As we obey the commandments of God, we are filled with his love. I know this gospel is true!
Happy new year!!

Love,
Elder Houston

image

Skyping with the fam

image

First family pic in 18 months

image

Wangzen’s Baptism

image

Elder Fisher with Def investigator

image

Christmas party

image

Pills

image

Wangzen’s Baptism

image

Pills

 

One thought on “Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

