Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Zone Training: Atonement of Jesus Christ

Leave a comment

Hello Family and Friends!

This week has been pretty good! It was so good to hear from all of you this week! With Easter fast approaching it was no surprise to hear about the atonement from you in several letters but still I thought it was interesting because that is our focus right now. That is all I have been thinking about and so it was kind of cool! This week has been one full of learning for me, and coming to a better understanding! It was cool for me to notice how the Lord works with me during this last week! I have had a cool week and I am excited to share! The whole week is kind of an experience so I will explain it Briefly!

So to start this week we had MLC (mission leadership training) and we went to the office and usually get trained by President and the AP’s but this time the AP’s didn’t say much and President didn’t really give a training but more  testimony on the atonement and then we were sent to prepare a zone training based on that. The preparation was tedious and hard, and we didn’t feel ready for the next day at zone training but we got up relying fully on the spirit, and it was such a spiritual Zone training. Nearly everyone, including myself, was crying or at least teary eyed at one point or the other. We talked about he center of our gospel, the atonement, and we talked about our Savior and Redeemer who completed that atonement! We talked about how that applies to us as missionaries and about how we must have a witness of it, and how to gain that witness and share that witness with others! And then of course we bore our own testimonies and witnesses of Jesus Christ and of his atonement! I decided after sharing the experience that in order to always, truly always have the spirit to be with us we must always think of the atonement, on the street, in the subways, on the bus, we must always think of the atonement! We also shared experiences of the difficulties of a mission! After we read a part of a talk by Elder Holland. In the take Elder Holland says basically, “Missions can’t be easy, how could they be, if the path was never easy for him(Jesus Christ) how could it ever be easy for us, it seems to me that we have to spend at least a few moments in Gethsemane, and take a step or 2 towards Calvary in this work!” It hit me with power, I shared how it wasn’t only a must but an opportunity, every time we struggle, get rejected, despised, or spit on, it is us getting to take one step closer to Calvary and come to understand that great incomprehensible sacrifice just a little more! I was grateful for all the trials and rejection and difficulties I have faced because I know my savior better because of those and made a resolve to appreciate my trials more fully….. Well that is where it gets interesting, see Heavenly Father knows us, he knew I was filled with new motive, new light, new capacity, so he tried me, so that I could grow closer to my Savior!

Elder Hong and I worked so hard this week to get member present lessons, and we did really good, got everything set up and set up a ton, we met one, and then……. they all canceled, they all had something, they got busy and we didn’t get any more and we didn’t even get any more sit down lessons our stats got destroyed, not that it is about stats but all the things that were so planned and going to do sooooo sooo good just disappeared it was one heartbreak after another, and each time I found myself reflecting on the atonement, and found my self so full of gratitude because I was taking steps closer to Calvary, I was spending just a few moments in Gethsemane and I was coming closer to my Savior.  I felt the spirit so strong and at the end of the week looking back Elder Hong and I were a little frustrated and sad, but I looked at him and said, “We did it Elder Hong, we came a lot close to Christ this week and that is our ultimate goal!” It was such a cool moment for us!

I feel so much closer to my Savior, I am grateful for the opportunity to serve and come closer to him! I know that Jesus Christ came to this earth! I know he suffered for our sins in Gethsemane and he bore all our pains, sufferings, griefs, and sorrows, I know he died on the cross of Calvary and was resurrected three days later! I know he is a living Christ, and that atonement is a living atonement which we can apply today! I know this gospel is true!

Love,

Elder Houston 

Leave a Reply

