Elder Houston

The Worth of Seouls – Seoul Korea Mission

Sanctified

Leave a comment

Dear Family and Friends,

Hello everyone! I am so happy to have heard from all of you today! I am grateful for the opportunity to hear from my family and I am so happy to hear about Justin and Emily and new baby Novalee!! Congratulations! I am happy to hear Dad’s surgery was good and that everyone seems to be happy and healthy. 

You may have notice the subject of this email is sanctification.. Something I have put a lot of thought into and it is a great talk! I am trying to become a more completely sanctified missionary! It is something we are doing in our mission! And in order to do that we must have the center of our mind and hear on our mission! D&C 4;2 states, “therefore if ye embark in the service of God see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength” That is what we are trying to do! This last zone training we focused a lot on that! In order to do that we also had a rule change reducing our email time! So I will not have as much time to email people but, I am going to keep my mind centered on my mission and just merely share these cool experiences and my testimony with you! I am excited to become the best missionary I can be for these last months of my mission!

We had so many cool experiences and miracles this week! I wish I could share them all, I will share just a few starting with 

Revelation and preparation,

Zone training, we had a very spiritual time preparing and presenting zone training, we spend so much time of the preparation on our knees! I am grateful for prayer. We wanted to help our zone find and become better sanctified! So one of the commitments we gave was to do a 40 day fast. What this is, is we start with a day fast and think about and notice things that “poke” at he spirit in us and then right it down and make plans to stop or change action to become more sanctified by the spirit and more worthy of the spirit! We are doing this Forty day fast and it is one of the coolest things I have done on my mission. I can literally feel a mighty change of heart happening in me even more so then ever before! That leads to my next experience.

Mighty Change of Heart,

This general conference I went in with a very humble heart, and because of that, conference means so much more to me then it ever has. I was truly ready to have a change in my heart. Well as I listened, to the Prophet Thomas S. Monson and the first Quorum and the 12 apostles, the holy spirit gently rested upon me, and testified of the truthfulness once again of the reality of the living Prophet Thomas S. Monson and testified to me of their words. I was struck by the words of Elder Hales and Elder Bednar! I have such a great desire to pay attention to that spirit and use it more fully. I want to become sanctified through the Holy Spirit! I learned so much from conference and had such a burning desire in my heart to help all people! We also watched it with Brother Jang Young Soo and his family of four who we have been teaching for a while, and what a blessing that was. They are doing really really great! I continued to ponder on how to keep this mighty spirit that had rested upon at conference and that leads to my next experience..

 That is the spirit,

Yesterday, we had invited an investigating family to come to the music night in a neighboring area that Elder Hong would be performing in, so I went and waited for them, but they had to cancel. I was still so filled with the spirit of conference and was so deeply pondering as I listened to the choir practice. I said a short pray and told Heavenly Father, that I was trying to be completely a servant, and do what he wants me too, I told him we tried to get our investigators there that night but they could not come and asked him, I pleaded for him to help me to still be an effective tool in his hand that night at the music night. I may not have anyone coming but I asked him to help me recognize somebody who I could help. As I watched the wonderful production the spirit filled me more and more and more. And soon I looked at one of my dear friends, a missionary in the choir singing, and then, the spirit overwhelmed me and said, “Talk to him Elder Houston, tell him how bright his spirit is.” I was choked up and was so happy to see him singing with his heart about the Savior. Afterward, when things were starting to get cleaned up I pulled him aside gave him a big hug and with some emotion told him what the spirit told me to tell him.. I didn’t know why I did that, but now I do, that was the spirit. He proceeded to tell me with tear filled eyes about his day, and how hard it was, and he said, “Thank you Elder Houston, I needed to hear that.” I hugged him again and we went on cleaning. But as we did, I said a small pray again, and told the lord, “Thank you Lord, I needed to hear that too.”

I am Grateful for many things, but this week I am grateful for a loving Heavenly Father, for his son, our savior Jesus Christ. I am grateful for the restoration, I am so grateful for Thomas S. Monson, the true and living prophet who holds all the keys of the Priesthood,.I love him and sustain him along with all the Quorum of the 12 and general authorities! I am so, so deeply grateful for the Spirit, and how it works with us to bless others. I am so grateful that the spirit can work with each of us and as we listen to it, our own lives are blessed! I know with all my heart this church is true, and Christ’s only true church on the earth! I love you all and I hope you have a great week!

Love,

Elder Houston

Leave a Reply

